When using DIY Hair and skin recipes, Mix it up for best results

DIY products do not have to be boring, “Mix it up” & use different ideas.

hairThe beauty of DIY natural beauty products is not just that they are cheap, none toxic, great for your immune system, environmentally awesome & they work great!
They are also so easily made you do not need to make most of them ahead & can make them as needed the way you want them depending on your mood, plus the added bonus of feeling so special about making your own products.

To pin this blog post on Pinterest

For the Love of DIY: Can you tell I love our DIY life? & I love finding new combos to use for hair & skin, I also love that my kids 17 years old down to 8 years old all love helping create our DIY projects & using them, they are often heard telling their friends just how great DIY is.

I am hoping all my sharing of all things DIY can help others to not give up & find what works for them, here’s to you conquering DIY beauty & to your health 🙂

Yes I know I might be a crazy fanatic DIY lady, but I wont bite so ask question & I will try to answer, it is best to ask on my Facebook page to get the fastest response. You can call me natural, frugal, crunchy, hippie or by my name Cheree, just as long as you are willing to have an open mind & do your research.

Lets get started!

As all my fans know I like to rotate what I use as DIY shampoo & DIY conditioner just like I rotate my DIY deodorants, DIY oral care & DIY skin care. So I am going to share a few DIY Shampoo & Conditioner ideas, plus for bath time skin care ideas too. Adjust them to your preferences & needs, there is no exact science to how much you add, just start where I suggest & adjust for your own likes, needs & wants. I also do not always use essential oils because depending on my hair that day they can make my hair greasy, but some days they are awesome in my hair, so if you feel like it add essential oils of choice in whatever steps you want or remove them.

I am only sharing some of the ideas I use, make sure to check out my other DIY shampoo posts & DIY skin care posts for more ideas.

bottles DIYI as I have said in other posts just keep containers in the bathroom on the tub that I can easily pour out of to keep the things I use in them, like a reused creamer bottle for Epsom salt or a reused parmesan cheese shaker for baking soda etc in (go here for more info)

Ideas #1

For Shampoo: 1 tsp. Borax dissolved in 1 cup of hot water I then add & stir in 1 tbsp. of pure witch hazel & pour over dry hair & work it in & let it sit a few minutes then rinse it out. (You can do a second washing with just baking soda water if desired)

Conditioner: 1 tbsp. of lemon juice & 2 tbsp. of fresh rosewater added to 1 cup of hot water. Work it in & let sit up to 5 minutes then rinse out. Then I also did a leave in hair rinse, I added 1 tbsp of rosewater to 1 cup of hot water & poured over my hair, then moisturize if needed.

Skin/face exfoliating mask: While you let the conditioner sit you can make & use a skinexfoliating mask for your face, chest, arms & hands. by mixing 3 parts Epsom salt with 1 part Borax, 1/2 part lemon juice & 1/2 part pure witch hazel, rub it in circles on wet skin & let sit the 5 minutes then simply wash off, then moisturize.

Moisturizing:  I then towel dried my hair & skin & rubbed coconut body butter into my hands well & gently raked my fingers through my hair once, then misted my hair with colloidal silver & brushed. I then misted my face, chest & arms with colloidal silver & rubbed body butter into my skin. (I do this after every time I was my hair, take a bath or shower)

Ideas #2

a1For Shampoo: 1/2 tbsp. of baking soda, 1 tiny pinch of Epsom salt & 1/2 tsp. of raw honey stirred into 1 cup hot water to dissolve. & pour over dry hair & work it in & let it sit a few minutes then rinse it out. ( You can do a second washing with just baking soda water if desired)

Conditioner: 1/4 cup of citrus vinegar made with Apple cider vinegar, 1 tsp. of Vitamin C powder & 1/2 tsp. of raw honey in several cups of hot water. Work it in & let sit up to 5 minutes then rinse out, then moisturize if needed.

Skin/face exfoliating mask: Baking soda & raw honey mixed into a paste & rubbed in circular motions on the face/skin, let sit for up to 5 minutes, then simply wash off, then moisturize.

Ideas #3

For Shampoo: this one I pour on in stages, 1 tsp. of Borax in one cup of hot water stirred into to dissolve, pour on top of the head & scalp only not the length or ends of your hair. then mix 1 to 2 tsp. of Epsom salt in a cup or 2 of hot water & pour on the length of your hair & ends work all wet areas together. Now mix 1/2 tsp. of raw honey & 1 tsp. of baking soda in one cup of hot water & pour over your whole head, work in & let sit a minute or 2 & rinse out. (You can do a second washing with just baking soda water if desired)

Conditioner: 1/4 cup rosewater, 1/4 cup plantain water, 2 drops of tea tree oil or lavender essential oil in a couple of cups of hot water, work it in & let sit up to 5 minutes then rinse out, then moisturize if needed.

Skin/face exfoliating mask: Mix 2 parts clay powder, 1 part Epsom salt, 1 drop lemon

Welcome to my blog, my name is Cheree & I am ~Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids~

Welcome to my blog, my name is Cheree & I am ~Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids~

essential oil & 1 drop rosemary essential oil with 1 part colloidal silver or pure water into a paste & rubbed in circular motions on the face/skin, let sit for up to 5 minutes, then simply wash off, then moisturize.

Ideas #4

For Shampoo: Add 2 tbsp. baking soda, 2 tbsp. apple cider vinegar or citrus vinegar, when it stops fizzing add 5 drops each of lavender, tea tree & rosemary essential oils, mix into 1 to 2 cups of hot water to dissolve. & pour over dry hair & work it in & let it sit a few minutes then rinse it out. (You can do a second washing with just baking soda water if desired)

Conditioner: (This must be made ahead) Puree one whole clean lemon including peel (remove seeds) 1 peeled cucumber, 1 mango or avocado or fruit of choice, after you puree these add, 1 ounce of colloidal silver or alkaline water, 2 tbsp. lemon or lime juice & mix well, store in fridge until you use it all up (one of the rare make a heads I use, I like to use a fruit puree on my hair about twice a month) add 1 to 3 tbsp. to 1 cup of hot water with optional 2 drops of essential oil of choice, work it in & let sit up to 5 minutes then rinse out, then moisturize if needed.

Skin/face exfoliating mask: Use the same puree you used on your hair on your face, either use straight or mix with Epsom salt &/or baking soda or even coarse oatmeal into a paste & rubbed in circular motions on the face/skin, let sit for up to 5 minutes, then simply wash off, then moisturize.

Ideas #5

Pre conditioner/Oil treatment: This can be used before any DIY shampoo you want, I just wanted to mention it now. Mix room temp raw coconut oil & olive oil (or body butter of choice) into dry or wet hair, wrap hair with damp hot/warm towel, leave 10 to 20 minutes then rinse with hot water & do several baking soda water washes or baking soda & natural liquid soap washes. Now you can shampoo as normal or just skip shampooing & conditioning for now.

hairFor Shampoo:  1 tbsp. of clay powder, 1 ounce of colloidal silver, 1 tsp. of raw honey, 1 to 2 pinches of Epsom salt, mix in one cup of hot water to dissolve. & pour over dry hair & work it in & let it sit a few minutes then rinse it out. (You can do a second washing with just baking soda water if desired)

Conditioner: 1 cup of fresh brewed coffee or tea still warm, 2 drops tea tree oil & lemon essential oil, 1 to 2 pinches of Epsom salt, pour on hair & work it in & let sit up to 5 minutes then rinse out, then moisturize if needed.

Skin/face exfoliating mask: Raw coconut oil & used coffee grounds, rubbed in circular motions on the face/skin, let sit for up to 5 minutes, then simply wash off, then moisturize.

Ideas #6

For Shampoo: 2 to 3 tbsp. of 3% peroxide, 1 tsp. Borax, 1 tsp. of baking soda in 1 to 2 cups hot water to dissolve. & pour over dry hair & work it in & let it sit a minute then rinse it out. I have dark hair & I love using peroxide, so does my teen daughter with dark hair, it has never faded our hair at all, my other teen daughter with blond hair it does seem to help her blond be vibrant, but she leaves it in longer.(You can do a second washing with just baking soda water if desired)

Conditioner: 1 tbsp Bragg apple cider vinegar in one cup of hot water, Options to add: lemon juice, lime juice, witch hazel, coconut water vinegar, citrus vinegar, vitamin c powder, rosewater & pour on hair & work it in & let sit up to 5 minutes then rinse out, then moisturize if needed.

DIY face maskSkin/face exfoliating mask: make a paste with Apple cider vinegar, lemon juice, baking soda & Epsom salt, rubbed in circular motions on the face/skin, let sit for up to 5 minutes, then simply wash off, then moisturize.

Love your DIY hair & Skin!

We have every hair & skin type you can think of in our home & DIY works great, we just had to figure out what rotations work best for us, you can do it too, if something does not work either try less or try more or do not use it or use it mixed with something else. Above all do not get stuck in a rut using the same routine, after your body get through the detox of switching to DIY enjoy yourself & create! (More info on the switching to DIY detox here)

_______________________________________________________

Do you have a question? Do you want to contact me? It is easy to contact me with your questions. Go here

_______________________________________________________

My blogs: Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kidsNFR6K BloggerNFR6K DIY Green CleaningNaturally Teen Approved NFR6K Reviews

What Brands of coconut oil do I trust for taking & oil pulling? That is simple I use & recommend these 2 great brands:

  1. Skinny & Co. Coconut oil: Medicinal grade Extra Virgin coconut oil 100% pure. (click link for ordering info)
  2. Tropical Traditions Virgin Gold Label Coconut oil. (click link for ordering info)
Facebook Pages:

You can also follow me on: Pinterest, Google+ & Twitter

Virgin Coconut Oil, Gold Label how to Use Coconut Oil: There are hundreds of uses!

I do accept products to review on my blog

  • My reviews policy: I am sent products to review on my blog and that all opinions are my own. (to contact me to review your product go here)

SmartKlean Laundry ball / Stain remover – Safe – Effective – Saves Money, Water & the Environment. To order a SmartKlean Laundry Ball go here & use my affiliate page.

Thank you for supporting my Facebook pages, Blog & sharing with your friends, Cheree of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids

The information on this site it intended for general inquiry, research & informational purposes only & should not be considered a substitute or replacement for trained medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment.
I am NOT a doctor, this page is for education & research only. Always consult a doctor, your health practitioner or other competent licensed health professional before taking any herbs or supplements, using alternative ideas & for any specific advice about medical treatments. In many cases these statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, or cure any disease.

All  information contained in the pages of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids blog, blog posts, site, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest or elsewhere are for information & research only.

_______________________________________________________

By Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids