Recipe: Gluten free Pumpkin Pancakes ~By Erika~

What’s for Breakfast?

I shared this recipe on my Facebook page last year & so many loved it I thought I would share it again, it is from the creative mind of my friend Erika & her tweaking of recipes to be healthy, gluten free & yummy.

To pin this blog post on Pinterest


Gluten free Pumpkin Pancakes

1 1/2 cups canned light coconut milk OR other milk
1 cup canned pumpkin puree (not pre-seasoned or sweetened pumpkin pie filling)
3 eggs
2 tablespoons olive oil OR Coconut oil
2 tablespoons Bragg apple cider vinegar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 cups gluten-free all purpose flour (preferably without added xanthan or guar gum)
4 tablespoons brown sugar (easily made yourself or use Sucanant, I even used raw honey)
1/2 teaspoon natural unrefined salt
2 teaspoons gluten-free baking powder (or make your own)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon allspice
1/4 teaspoon guar gum OR xanthan gum (OMIT if you are using a GF all-purpose flour mix that contains xanthan or guar gum) info here (I personally did not use either of these when I made these pancakes, so at least for me these are optional)
Extra oil for cooking pancakes

Mix together, heat griddle to med/high.

Spoon on desired amount of batter on the greased griddle, allow pancake to cook until the little bubbles start popping, then flip.

Use real butter or raw coconut oil, or do a mixture of olive oil & raw coconut oil spread (recipe below)

Update from Erika 7-2013: I’ve replaced the brown sugar with coconut sugar or honey – to make it vegan sub with egg replacer and use a DF butter like all natural soy free Earth Balance.🙂 Glad everyone like it!

Healthy oil spread for butter & margarine replacement:  This is great to replace margarine on any foods (or replace butter), simply mix 1 to 2 tbsp. of olive oil with 1 cup of solid coconut oil, mix together in a bowl or jar with a hand mixer until creamy. Spread on toast, on pancakes, in oatmeal, in smoothies etc. For a sweet Honey version add 1 tbsp. of raw honey, 1 tbsp. of olive oil to the solid coconut oil.

Check out this recipe for Best Homemade Pancake Syrup

(Picture above is of pancakes I made but is not a picture of this recipe)


Do you have a question? Do you want to contact me? It is easy to contact me with your questions. Go here


The information on this site it intended for general inquiry, research & informational purposes only & should not be considered a substitute or replacement for trained medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment.
I am NOT a doctor, this page is for education & research only, & is NOT intended to be medical advice. Always consult a doctor, your health practitioner or other competent licensed health professional before taking any herbs or supplements, using alternative ideas & for any specific advice about medical treatments.
If you think you, or anyone in your home or who are under your care, are ill or in need medical treatment, please seek the needed medical treatment Any of the information contained in the pages of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids blog, blog posts, site, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest or elsewhere are for information & research only.

Natural & Frugal: raising 6 kids Facebook page
Facebook Pages:

You can also follow me on: Pinterest & Twitter

Virgin Coconut Oil, Gold Label how to Use Coconut Oil: There are hundreds of uses!

I do accept products to review on my blog

  • My reviews policy: I am sent products to review on my blog and that all opinions are my own.
  • To contact me: Go here

Thank you for supporting my Facebook pages, Blog & sharing with your friends, Cheree of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids


Leave a Reply

