Recycle – Upcycle – Hey where did you get that container for your DIY products?

Hey where did you get that container? Recycled containers with A DIY life, what could be better!

I get these question so much from fans & readers:
Do I need to use glass or plastic for my DIY products?
Where do I buy containers for my DIY supplies?
So I will answer both questions the best I can & give you some ideas on using what you have or your friends have. But I will cover recycling what you have more since this idea fits in best with most DIY lives.

To pin this blog post on Pinterest

recyclePictured above: 2 creamer containers, a drink mix container & a parmesan cheese shaker, Bragg vinegar glass bottle, peroxide bottle what is in them? from L to R, Citrus vinegar, Epsom salt, Borax, Baking soda, vinegar lemon cleaner & peroxide & lemon juice cleaner & bleach alternative.

 Do I need to use glass or plastic for my DIY products?
For me this one would defiantly be only use glass, & we do use glass mostly, but with little hands for things like baking soda as soap/body wash, no poo mixtures, toothpaste/powders, some spray cleaners on & on. So for those I use plastic.

002I do try to stick to glass jars I recycle or mason jars for things like my Clay powder, Food grade diatomaceous earth, Food grade peroxide, Colloidal silver, protein mixes,honey raw coconut oil (I buy in bulk & add to coconut oil jars I have saved).

Even small glass spray bottle I use for carrying things like Colloidal silver, sanitizer etc. (check out here what I carry in my purse)

For spray cleaners love to save my Bragg ACV/Coconut water vinegar glass bottles & just add a sprayer & use them & most of my kids can handle them with no issues.

I like glass jars, or bowls with lids to store or clean garden veges & greens in the fridge in. I

spray bottleSmall travel spray bottles: The little spray bottle I keep on my desk, in the bathroom & in my purse I also am recycling, I save brown, blue or clear glass bottles from things like vitamin drops, tinctures, herbals drops & homeopathic remedies etc & I buy the small travel size plastic spray bottle at discount stores (in the travel section) & simply add the pump sprayer off the plastic bottle I buy to the glass bottle I have saved. I then save the dropper in case I need it for something else. These little spray bottles are used for colloidal silver, spray hand sanitizer, & spray deodorant, I also use the plastic travel spray pumps I buy as well for several things I carry in my purse.

But as I said we do use plastic but 99% we have saved & recycled into unique uses. And I have found I do not even have to buy the products that were once in the containers, friends & neighbors are very happy to save them for me. just DIY liquid Landryclean & dry them well & either add labels or use a sharpie to write what is in them, my kids love adding the names for me.

Tip from my fan Shari: I LOVE using my regular mouth mason jars and capping them w/ old parmesan lids. They fit so nice and are so useful for everything.

The empty plastic containers I use:

  • baking soda body washGrated Parmesan cheese shaker: for baking soda by the sinks & on the tub for use as soap, body wash, toothpaste (powders), deodorant (powders) & no poo. Also great for your salt to keep it dry (either table salt for cleaning or natural for your health) these work great to keep things dry & have 2 choices for a pour top.
  • Creamer bottles: Both from liquid & powder creamers, I add containercitrus vinegar (for no poo) No poo pre made mixtures & conditioner mixtures, Salt, Epsom salt (for baths, adding Epsom salt to other products or for my plants, & no poo etc.) Borax (no poo & laundry) Food Grade diatomaceous earth (when I am giving some away for a friend to try) Raw sugar (keeps it dry & safe) these both work great for liquids & pouring or to keep dry things dry & pouring.
  • Plastic bottles with lids: I will store most anything in them that I can not find a glass jar for. great to keep things dry & using a scoop to get out as much as you need.
  • peroxide cleanerPeroxide bottles: Mainly I add a spray top & use for straight peroxide or for anything that has peroxide in it (cleaners, spot remover spray, laundry room, room deodorizers etc)
  • Gallon vinegar jugs: Love these for making large amounts of No poo/Conditioner, bottles DIYLandry room Whitener/Brightener/bleach substitute, Liquid laundry soap, Citrus vinegar (prefer glass but oh well), watering my plants. I can make large amounts & refill my smaller containers as needed.
  • Soap squirt bottles: I use these for making liquid soaps when needed (like baking soda water or borax water) for washing stains, laundry room, tubs, no poo, dishes etc.
  • Those Red & Yellow restaurant ketchup & mustard bottles: these can be found cheaply at most stores & work great for pre made beauty products, no poo products, some toothpastes/powders, oils etc.
  • Other plastic containers with lids that can be reused: various uses, use your toothpaste (2)imagination (container pictured to the right is a recycled Lifesavers Minis container used for DIY toothpastes & powders)

Just get creative with glass & plastic jars, they can be used so many ways & misting spray bottles, travel sizecan be painted (on the outside) or have great labels added that makes them look cool.

Where do I buy containers for my DIY supplies?
If you do a Google search for containers many great places come up in every size & shape you can think of in glass & plastic. But you can also buy Ball Mason Jars, Trial size plastic bottle & spray bottles, seal top containers like Rubbermaid or ziplock at most stores (like big grocery stores, Wal marts, Dollar stores, Targets, Big lots etc.)


Do you have a question? Do you want to contact me? It is easy to contact me with your questions. Go here


My blogs: Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kidsNFR6K BloggerNFR6K DIY Green CleaningNaturally Teen Approved NFR6K Reviews

What Brands of coconut oil do I trust for taking & oil pulling? That is simple I use & recommend these 2 great brands:

  1. Skinny & Co. Coconut oil: Medicinal grade Extra Virgin coconut oil 100% pure. (click link for ordering info)
  2. Tropical Traditions Virgin Gold Label Coconut oil. (click link for ordering info)
Facebook Pages:

You can also follow me on: Pinterest, Google+ & Twitter

Virgin Coconut Oil, Gold Label how to Use Coconut Oil: There are hundreds of uses!

I do accept products to review on my blog

  • My reviews policy: I am sent products to review on my blog and that all opinions are my own. (to contact me to review your product go here)

SmartKlean Laundry ball / Stain remover – Safe – Effective – Saves Money, Water & the Environment. To order a SmartKlean Laundry Ball go here & use my affiliate page.

Thank you for supporting my Facebook pages, Blog & sharing with your friends, Cheree of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids

The information on this site it intended for general inquiry, research & informational purposes only & should not be considered a substitute or replacement for trained medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment.
I am NOT a doctor, this page is for education & research only. Always consult a doctor, your health practitioner or other competent licensed health professional before taking any herbs or supplements, using alternative ideas & for any specific advice about medical treatments. In many cases these statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, or cure any disease.

All  information contained in the pages of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids blog, blog posts, site, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest or elsewhere are for information & research only.


By Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids

3 thoughts on “Recycle – Upcycle – Hey where did you get that container for your DIY products?

  1. Pingback: Baking soda ramblings | Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids

  2. Pingback: A DIY life: Let the sun shine on me, naturally sunscreen free | Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids

  3. Pingback: A DIY Life Ramblings: Hair and skin routine ideas ~Mix it up~ | Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids

Leave a Reply

