Homemade Natural DIY Deodorant – Recipes – Powder – Cream – Spray – on and on

Is your deodorant Toxic? It probably is! Even natural deodorants you buy at health food stores etc can have questionable & toxic ingredients.

Commercial deodorants are full of toxic ingredients & contain aluminum.
So maybe you tried to get away from toxic commercial deodorants, maybe you tried natural hand wash baking sodadeodorants, but you researched them & you worried what was really in them, plus most say natural deodorants are not effective, add the high cost of these natural products to the lack of doing their job & they have left you afraid to raise your hand in more than one way.
Or maybe just maybe you really just do not want to alienate everyone you know by having a aire about you & it’s not a sweet-smelling aire. When you think of natural deodorant maybe you see yourself having to move out with the abominable snowman just so you will have a friend & you wont sweat (immune system & DIY)

I feel your pain!
I hear ya, I did it for years wondering if those around me could smell my funk, & hiding in corners trying to see if I was THAT smell, I tried almost every mist, cream, spray, rock etc in the health food store our found online that were natural & all were dismal failures if I did more than lay in front of the AC, so finally I had to resign myself to using the safest possibly of the commercial brands & it did work great, the arm & hammer natural unscented, of course after a few years it became hard to find so again I was on the hunt for that golden natural deodorant at the end of the rainbow.

Baking soda
My research brought me to using just baking soda & oh boy adding it to my wet underarms baking sodaworked better than any other natural deodorant I had ever used, & for a year that’s all I used. a few times it did fail me & yes it was always when I was out away from home but basically it did the job I needed it to do & as a plus my then pre teen girls could safely use it & it worked well for them. (Baking soda does not have Aluminum) More info on baking soda here

To pin this post on Pinteresta1

Needed more
I continued searching & searching & using myself as a guinea pig then I found it the simple recipe that changed everything, the one that started it all, the DIY deodorant that all others will forever be compared to & natural deodorant must bow down in submission too, Simple, safe, natural, effective & left no stains (at least for us) My Teens & Pre-Teens use these & they are effective.

And wha la DIY deodorant was born into my house, this deodorant can have essential oils added, used as is, or change the ratio for your needs, applied when & where you need it, you body butter1name it, oh & for those that baking soda does irritate them you can substitute clay powder, I recommend Terramin Montmorillonite Clay Powder or just use less baking soda & more corn starch, & you can replace the cornstarch with Arrowroot or potato starch if you prefer. It is simply the best ever for use & many others. Also great for all ages.

OK time for more great DIY deodorant ideas all tried by me & my family, all effective in different ways or for different members (you must find what works for you) But remember the transition from commercial to natural/DIY deodorant like anything else is not a smooth change over, it for sure is a bed of thorns, info herehere on making the switch.

If you need to turn your DIY deodorant into extra strength deodorants because these just do not cut it, check out my blog post: How to Make Extra Strength Natural Deodorant – Recipes – Take DIY Deodorant to a New Level

For clay powder use any of these: white clay powder, green clay powder, bentonite clay or Calcium Montmorillonite Clay Powder

Starch used: You can use Corn Starch, Arrowroot or Potato Starch

Essential oils: citrus, lavender, patchouli, rosemary etc.

Here you go DIY deodorants of different types & ideas

For DIY deodorant using rosewater go here

DIY cream deodorant
1/3 cup Starch
1/3 cup Baking Soda
5 to 10 drops of Antibacterial Essential Oil (tea tree, lavender, or eucalyptus or a combo)
5 to 10 drops of Antifungal Essential Oil (tea tree, peppermint, sandalwood, or eucalyptus or a combo)
1 to 2 tablespoons Vitamin E oil, Wheat Germ oil  or Olive oil, 3 tablespoons Coconut Oil (or any other liquid oil in the list here)

Soften coconut oil if it is hard, then mix all together & store in an air tight container, start off adding 1 tablespoon of Vitamin E & increase if desired. rub with fingers on underarms. (this one my teens love)

DIY cream deodorant #2
Mix 1/2 cup baking soda with 1/2 cup of starch, 1 TBS of clay powder mix in coconut oil to the 001 Terraminconsistency you desire, then you can add essential oils after oils you may need to add a pinch or so more baking soda. store in air tight container, remember this can melt in heat because of the coconut oil, you can also play around with ratio of mixture to suit you.

DIY cream deodorant #3
Use 1/2 cup of room temperature raw coconut oil, add several tablespoons of Epsom salt, mix until all Epsom salt is dissolved & no clumps, sit in fridge or allow to get hard, apply by rubbing under arms.

DIY cream deodorant #4
Mix clay powder & raw coconut oil to the consistency you desire, or clay powder, starch & raw coconut oil to the consistency you desire, add any essential oils.

DIY cream deodorant #5
Mix Sole water in with any of your cream deodorant recipes, how to make sole water here.

Mist spray deodorant #1
Colloidal silver, Vinegar & Rubbing alcohol all make great deodorants alone, but you can spray bottlecombine them for an awesome DIY deodorant spray. Great for teens & teen approved since my teens love it.

What you need 1 small spray bottle, fill bottle  with 1 part vinegar (& add a pinch of corn starch & a pinch of baking soda & wait till fizzing stops) and 1 part rubbing alcohol & 1 part 10ppm colloidal silver, shake & spray. on. Optional add 20 drops of your favorite essential oil, such as tea tree oil, Lavender etc … Can also be used as a spray on hand sanitizer, toilet seat sanitizer/cleaner. Grocery cart sanitizer/cleaner etc. I carry this in my purse.

Mist spray deodorant #2
Another great natural DIY spray deodorant
rosewaterThis spray can be used on days when you wont be sweating as bad or working as hard or to use with other DIY deodorants to help revive them near the end of the day.
Find one of those small 2 to 3 ounce spray misting bottles to add this to
You want to use just a little less water than will fit in the bottle for this
Add heated distilled water to a bowl & add 1 tbsp. of Epsom salt & 1 pinch of baking soda & dissolve the salt completely (might take a while)
add to spray bottle & spray on underarms
Options to add: Essential oils, Rubbing alcohol, Lemon or Lime juice Apple cider vinegar, Coconut water vinegar, Witch hazel, colloidal silver etc..

Mist spray deodorant #3
Add 1 tablespoon of Epsom salt to every 4 ounces of water, add to mist spray bottle, spray under arms. Or buy a deodorant crystal & break it into small pieces with a hammer, add 1 tablespoon per 4 ounces of water. Options to add: essential oils of choice, Citrus Vinegar, rubbing alcohol, lemon or lime juice, colloidal silver.

Mist spray deodorant #4
You can mix Sole water 1 part sole water with 2 parts distilled water or half & half with distilled water or even use it straight. Add it to a travel size misting spray bottle & spray underarms. Add a few drops of essential oils if desired (we like to add lavender & tea tree oil). For how to make your own sole water go here.

DIY essential oil deodorant
1 tablespoons of almond oil, wheat germ oil or olive oil (or organic any liquid oil in the list here)
2 tablespoons of coconut oil
1 tablespoon of beeswax
Essential oils:
5 drops of lavender oil
3 drops of rosemary oil
3 drops of lemongrass oil
3 drops of tea tree oil
Heat the beeswax, coconut oil & other oil over low heat just enough to melt, remove from heat & add essential oils & stir, pour into an old deodorant container or a mold, some like to pour into an empty toilet paper roll. to apply scoop some with fingertips & rub on or rub under arms etc. For most people only a small amount will be needed, you can dust under arms with starch after applying if desired.

Powder deodorant
Mix 1/2 cup baking soda, 1/2 cup starch, & 1 to 2 TBS clay powder, just apply to damp under arms with cotton ball or makeup brush/kabuki options add essential oils & mix in well with a fork.

Activated Charcoal Deodorant

-Activated Charcoal, it is black, it is messy & it IS down right amazing.-

Activated charcoal powder can be added to any of the above recipes just start off adding a little until you get the desired amount, remember it is be black & messy even in very small amounts, so less is best & activated charcoal powder diyworks just fine. so you can use more or less & just use the recipe as a guide just as with any DIY recipes alter them to fit your needs & desires.

Activated charcoal is good for odor but the deodorant is really more for detoxing your under arms & lymph system but it wont hurt you if you are ok with black & messy to use it every day forever.

Powder:  

Mix 1/2 cup baking soda, 1/2 cup starch, 1 to 2 TBS clay powder & 1 to 3 tsp activated charcoal powder , just apply to damp under arms with cotton ball or makeup brush/kabuki options add essential oils & mix in well with a fork.

Cream deodorant: 

1/3 cup Starch, 1/3 cup Baking Soda, 1 to 3 tsp Activated charcoal powder

3 to 5 tbsp of raw coconut oil

Soften coconut oil if it is hard, then mix all together & store in an air tight container, rub with fingers on underarms

Optional: 5 to 10 drops of Antibacterial Essential Oil (tea tree, lavender, or eucalyptus or a combo). 5 to 10 drops of Anti-fungal Essential Oil (tea tree, peppermint, sandalwood, or eucalyptus or a combo)

teeth

Other Favorites:

Just misting peroxide on (3%, food grade or drug store) spray or rub underarms alone or over other deodorant

Just raw coconut oil underarms or over other deodorant

Milk of magnesia~ I have one daughter who loves this straight out of the fridge to her underarms info here

More DIY ideas here

Natural deodorant brands we have tried that do work: For a great natural effective deodorant if you do not want to make your own check out Pit Powder by MuddyH2O or Tropical Traditions roll on deodorant (in Classic, Lavender or Frankincense scent)

Brands of coconut oil I recommend here

Some of the ways I use these deodorants: We keep several versions of the above deodorants around & rotate them, but just one of the ways I apply DIY deodorant is.

First I apply Mist spray deodorant #3 (with added citrus vinegar, lemon juice & rubbing alcohol)

Second I apply the Powder deodorant (most times mine has far less baking soda in it & more bentonite clay)

Third I simply wipe on some virgin coconut oil this can all be done in seconds.

I use & do my deodorant the way my mood hits me to do it 🙂 I do use all the recipes above.

Another great combo we love, spray on 3% peroxide or rubbing alcohol, sprinkle on a mixture of baking soda & corn starch (it can be 1/2 & 1/2 or 3/4 & 1/4 whatever way you want )

Another way, first apply Mist spray deodorant #1, second apply DIY cream deodorant #2.

You get the idea, these recipes can be used or together & also altered to fit your needs/likes. So remember you can use more or less of the ingredients or leave one out if the need arises. The above recipes are just guides so there is no right or wrong if it works for you, that is one of the awesome things about DIY you can make it your own recipe.

More ideas:

Things you can use as deodorant alone or together, if one does not work for your body type just try another, but all have been tried in our home and work & work for 1 person at least if not on all of us all were tried separate & we have used them in deodorant recipes also

  • Baking soda
  • Activated Charcoal
  • Corn starch
  • Arrow Root Powder
  • Milk of Magnesia (original)
  • Lemon juice
  • Lime juice
  • Raw Coconut oil
  • 3% peroxide (drug store or food grade)
  • White vinegar
  • Citrus Vinegar
  • Apple Cider vinegar
  • Bragg Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Kombucha tea
  • Rubbing alcohol
  • Raw Honey
  • Colloidal silver
  • Bentonite clay/Montmorillonite/ clay Powder
  • Witch Hazel (pure)
  • Sea salt or other natural salt dissolved in water
  • Essential oils just drops in a carrier oil

_______________________________________________________

Reviews: My product reviews the company provided me with a reduced price or free item(s) or sample(s) of the product(s) mentioned above in my review, I was under no obligation to review it, nor was I under any obligation to only write a positive review. My reviews are my honest opinion after personally trying the product & feeling confident in it. When it comes to products I do not like, that cause issues or if it was a negative experience I will not review them & contact the company telling them why. So If the review has made it to my blog it is because I love it & recommend it to everyone & I am happy to have used the product.

Affiliate & Referral links: I do when I can have links that are affiliate or referral links, not all links on my blog, pages & posts are affiliate or referral links. (More info here)

I will share links to buy products on Amazon anytime I can, I thank you for your support.

______________________

Follow me: Facebook – Pinterest – Google+ – Instagram (Raising6kids) –  Twitter @NaturalCheree

Click here to learn where buy some of my favorite products such as coconut oil, colloidal silver & more.

All  information contained in the pages of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids blog – NFR6K Blog, blog posts, site, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest or elsewhere are for information & research only.

Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids & NFR6K Reviews

To contact me to review your product go here.

More products I love by Tropical Traditions:  Gold Label Virgin Coconut oil – Green label Virgin coconut oil – Palm Oil – Palm shortening – Extra Virgin Olive oil – Black Cumin Seed oil – Organic Sesame oil – Coconut water Vinegar – Organic Apple cider vinegar – Balsamic vinegar – Pink Himalayan salt – Organic spices – Organic Whole Unbleached Sugar – Grass-Fed butter & more.

If you order by clicking on any of my links & order from Tropical Traditions & have never ordered from them in the past, you might receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, & I will receive a discount coupon for referring you”

back nfr6k

_______________________________________________________

I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. Thank you for reading my blog & supporting me on the journey to share #NFR6K Cheree

14 thoughts on “Homemade Natural DIY Deodorant – Recipes – Powder – Cream – Spray – on and on

  1. Cheree, when using the 1st recipe (equal pts baking soda, cornstarch, coconut oil) how do you apply it? Can I put this in a used stick deodorant container?

  2. I use food grade DE on an old blush brush and put it on my underarms to control sweat. I also use it between and under my breasts for the same thing. I am going to try adding it to some coconut oil with lavender and see how that works. Thanks for all the info. 

  3. Pingback: Maja Cream Powder Natural | Laatuasunnot

  4. Wow! I love how educated and thorough you are. Tonight on Shark Tank, PiperWai pitched their all natural, activated charcoal deodorant. Now, I’ve been a long time fan and user of charcoal products (the ones on the market 10yrs ago, before charcoal went mainstream) including the activated charcoal capsules.. I worked in a wonderful vitamin/supplement store for awhile. I couldn’t help but notice this was a brand you hadn’t listed. Am I safe in assuming there’s a reason for that?

    Thanks!

Leave a comment