Second Ferment: Orange, pineapple and lemon water kefir kombucha

This creates a nice light tasting kombucha that is slightly sweet & tart.

Orange, pineapple and lemon water kefir kombucha

I do second ferments all the time of water kefir & I do second ferments all the time of kombucha. This recipes combines them with amazing results.



My husband will drink kombucha tea, but he is just not in love with the kombucha taste. I also wanted him to start drinking water kefir, so I decided to start experimenting. I knew I personally sometimes liked to mix flavored water kefir in my kombucha, so all I needed to do was experiment & take it a step further & second ferment them together.

The result, delicious. Now I must point out the version I am getting my husband to drink is orange & lemon (more orange than lemon), so you can play around with the amounts & you can use different fruits if you want.


What you need:

  • 2 & half cups of finished unflavored kombucha tea
  • 2 & half cups finished unflavored water kefir
  • 1 orange
  • 1 lemon
  • 1/4 cup fresh cubed pineapple
  • 1/4 cup organic sugar
  • 2 quart jars or one half gallon jar

Tips:

  • Orange: I used a navel orange about softball size, but you can use the type you want.
  • Pineapple: I tried this with frozen chunks of pineapple & I just preferred the fresh pineapple, but decide for yourself.
  • Kombucha tea: Make sure your kombucha tea has not gotten sour like vinegar, I like mine at about day 8 to 10. Never use Kombucha tea that has been flavored in batches with your SCOBY’s.
  • Water kefir: I ferment my water kefir usually 24 hours for the first ferment.
  • Sugar: The sugar is optional, but it does help the second ferment to continue the process of adding probiotics.
  • Length of second ferment: How long you decide to second ferment is all up to you, but if you add sugar make sure it is used up by the mixture.Second Ferment Orange, pineapple and lemon water kefir kombucha
  • Tasting: Depending on temps in your home you can start tasting at 12 hours using a straw, taste twice a day until it gets to the taste you are looking for.
  • Kombucha scoby: Any kombucha scoby that might form on the top you can either blend in with a blender or discard. Do not use for making kombucha tea.
  • Second fermenting: Second fermenting gives you even more nutrients, vitamins & probiotics than first ferments.

Directions:

  1. Add your kombucha & water kefir to your jar (if using 2 jars equal amounts in each jar).
  2. Add sugar & stir in until dissolved.
  3. Now take your cubed pineapple & smash it up as much as you can in a bowl.
  4. Add crushed up pineapple & the juice to jar(s).
  5. Slice the orange & lemon in half after cleaning the skin really well.
  6. Squeeze juice from both into jar with kefir/kombucha.
  7. Slice up the orange & lemon & add some of each to jar(s) making sure to leave room at top to ferment. (so do not over fill).
  8. Stir
  9. Cover jar openings with plastic wrap.
  10. Screw on lids.
  11. Try to release gas pressure once a day or so.
  12. For me this is done in 48 hours, for you it might be less or more.
  13. Use a plastic mesh strainer to remove fruit, seeds pulp, any slime that formed from the kombucha tea.
  14. You do not have to strain it out, you can leave it to continue adding flavor in the fridge.
  15. You can also add this second ferment with the chunks of fruit right into the blender & blend it up & let it infuse more flavor.
  16. You can then use the plastic mesh strainer to remove the blended up pieces as you pour into your glass.

Buy on Amazon:

Orange, pineapple and lemon water kefir kombucha


Affiliate & Referral links:  I do when I can have links that are affiliate or referral links, not all links on my blog, pages & posts are affiliate or referral links. (More info here)

I will  share links to buy products on  Amazon  anytime I can, I thank you for your support.

______________________

Follow me:  Facebook  –  Pinterest  –  Google+  –  Instagram  (Raising6kids) –   Twitter  @NaturalCheree

Click here to learn where buy some of my favorite products  such as coconut oil, colloidal silver & more.

All    information contained in the pages of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids blog – NFR6K Blog, blog posts, site, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest or elsewhere are for information & research only.

Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids  &  NFR6K Reviews

To contact me to review your product go here.

More products I love by Tropical Traditions:    Gold Label Virgin Coconut oil  –  Green label Virgin coconut oil  –  Palm Oil  –  Palm shortening  –  Extra Virgin Olive oil  –  Black Cumin Seed oil  –  Organic Sesame oil  –  Coconut water Vinegar  –  Organic Apple cider vinegar  –  Balsamic vinegar  –  Pink Himalayan salt  –  Organic spices  –  Organic Whole Unbleached Sugar  –  Grass-Fed butter  & more.

If you order by clicking on any of my links & order from Tropical Traditions & have never ordered from them in the past, you might receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, & I will receive a discount coupon for referring you”

back nfr6k

_______________________________________________________

I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. Thank you for reading my blog & supporting me on the journey to share #NFR6K Cheree

One thought on “Second Ferment: Orange, pineapple and lemon water kefir kombucha

Leave a Reply

