Using Dandelions in my second ferments (water kefir & kombucha tea)

I love foraging for Dandelions, & a great use for dandelions is in my kombucha tea & water kefir (second ferments only).

Using Dandelions in my second ferments

I will only be sharing in this post how to do second ferments with the dandelion roots, leaves & flowers. But I do have a great blog post on other uses for dandelions here: A DIY Life: Picking Dandelions – Another great medicinal yard weed.



First things first:Dandelions 002

  • I like my leaves of dandelions younger, but will still use the older leaves.
  • Before digging up plants for roots I like to let lots of the dandelion plants go to seed.
  • Once picking or digging dandelions make sure to clean well.
  • I like to use my peroxide & baking soda wash #4 in my blog post Homemade wash your fresh fruits and Vegetables – DIY recipes – Clean and PreserveDandelions 006
  • If you are concerned about pesticides at all you can also soak them in activated charcoal water. Mix in 1 to 2 tsp of hardwood activated charcoal powder to about a gallon of water, add dandelions & soak  for 10 to 15 minutes then rinse well. then do a wash from the blog post above.
  • If your dandelions wilted or need re-freshening to liven them up you can use the activated charcoal mixture.
  • I like to after making sure everything is clean to separate the flowers, leaves & roots & the prepare each of them for use.Dandelions 016
  • I like to add lemon in my dandelion creations, because to me it pairs well, but you can use something else or just use dandelions without the lemon.
  • The recipes below are for after washing & preparing the dandelion.

Second ferment dandelion root & leaves kombucha tea:

  1. In a jar a quart jar add 1/4 or so cup of dandelion leaves, 1 to 2 tbsp of dandelion dandelion root leaf kombucharoots & half a lemon, squeeze in the juice & add the lemon.
  2. Fill the jar with finished kombucha tea, making sure to leave about an inch at the top for bubbling that might occur.
  3. 1 tsp of organic sugar (optional).
  4. Put the lid on tight (if lid is metal cover jar opening with plastic wrap before putting lid on.
  5. Shake to stir & sit in cupboard.
  6. I like to open it once a day to check it & shake it again.
  7. I like mine at 48 hours, you might like your at 24 hours or longer.
  8. You can strain out the leaves, roots & lemon or leave them in the jar.
  9. Refrigerate
  10. Drink as is or mix with juice or in tea or your favorite way to drink kombucha. It can even be mixed with water kefir to drink.
  11. Discard any kombucha scoby’s that might form.

Second ferment dandelion flower kombucha tea:Dandelions 018

  1. Remove the petals (yellow, pale yellow & white) from the green bud.
  2. Add a tbsp or 2 of the petals to a quart jar (or 4 tbsp depending on your amount of flowers &
    taste).
  3. Add kombucha tea to the jar leave about an inch from the top.
  4. Add 1 tsp of organic sugar, stir to dissolve (optional).dandelion petals flowers
  5. Put the lid on tight (if lid is metal cover jar opening with plastic wrap before putting lid on.
  6. Shake to stir & sit in cupboard.
  7. I like to open it once a day to check it & shake it again.
  8. I like mine at 48 hours, you might like your at 24 hours or longer.dandelion flower petals water kefir
  9. You can strain out the flowers or leave them in the jar.
  10. Refrigerate
  11. To me this is a nice mildly sweet, smooth kombucha tea.

Second ferment dandelion flower water kefir:

  1. Remove the petals (yellow, pale yellow & white) from the green bud.dandelion flowers water kefir
  2. Add a tbsp or 2 of the petals to a quart jar (or 4 tbsp depending on your amount of flowers & taste).
  3. Add finished water kefir to the jar filling it, leave about an inch from the top.
  4. Add 1 or 2 tsp of organic sugar, stir to dissolve (optional but helps the second fermenting process).
  5. Put the lid on tight (if lid is metal cover jar opening with plastic wrap before putting lid on.
  6. Sit in cupboard.
  7. I like mine after 24 hours, but you might like it at 12 hours or 48 hours or longer.
  8. You can strain out the flowers or leave them in the jar.Dandelion water kefir
  9. Refrigerate
  10. I like to just sit & drink this, it taste honey like, but is also good mixed with the dandelion kombucha to give a nice smooth tasting combo.
  11. Another favorite way for me is to add it to the Ninja with ice & milk kefir yogurt.

Second ferment dandelion root water kefir with lemon:

  1. I cut up my roots about pea size & added a couple tbsp to a quart jar.
  2. Add half a lemon, squeeze in the juice & add the lemon.dandelion root & lemon water kefir
  3. Add finished water kefir to the jar filling it, leave about an inch from the top.
  4. Add 1 or 2 tsp of organic sugar, stir to dissolve (optional but helps the second fermenting process).
  5. Put the lid on tight (if lid is metal cover jar opening with plastic wrap before putting lid on.
  6. Sit in cupboard.
  7. I like mine after 36 hours, but you might like it at 12 hours, 24 hours or 48 hours or longer.
  8. You can strain out the roots & lemon or leave them in the jar.
  9. Refrigerate
  10. I like to mix this with other water kefir flavors or make a slush with it with ice in the ninja.

Dandelion tea water kefir (and second ferment):Dandelion tea water kefir

  1. I make this water kefir a little different.
  2. I make dandelion tea by boiling the leaves, flowers or roots or all 3 & letting it steep.
  3. let cool & strain out the dandelion.
  4. Add to quart jar with 1/4 cup of organic sugar (do not fill jar up all the way).
  5. Stir the sugar until dissolved.
  6. Add 1 to 2 tbsp of water kefir crystals (add your extras, I have not had it hurt my kefir crystals but I never use all I have on hand in uses like this).
  7. Ferment 12 to 24 hours
  8. Strain out the water kefir crystals.
  9. Time to second ferment.Dandelions 022
  10. To the quart jar of fermented water kefir dandelion tea add 1 tbsp of organic sugar (optional).
  11. Stir until dissolved.
  12. Add other flavors to the tea water kefir & stir
  13. Put the lid on tight (if lid is metal cover jar opening with plastic wrap before putting lid on.
  14. Sit in cupboard.
  15. Ferment another 12, 24 or more hours
  16. Then either strain out flavors you added or leave them in.
  17. RefrigerateDandelion e
  18. Great added to your hot tea or coffees, but personally I prefer it by itself.
  19. Options to add to this second ferment…..
  20. Half a lemon, squeeze the juice in & then add the rest of the lemon.
  21. Several fresh mint leaves
  22. A sprig of rosemary
  23. A couple sliced strawberries
  24. Several types of citrus, lemon, lime, orange.
  25. Tip: I have done this with good quality dandelion tea also.

Buy what you need on amazon:


Using Dandelions in my second ferments


This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Affiliate & Referral links:  I do when I can have links that are affiliate or referral links, not all links on my blog, pages & posts are affiliate or referral links. (More info here)

I will  share links to buy products on  Amazon  anytime I can, I thank you for your support.

______________________

Follow me:  Facebook  –  Pinterest  –  Google+  –  Instagram  (Raising6kids) –   Twitter  @NaturalCheree

Click here to learn where buy some of my favorite products  such as coconut oil, colloidal silver & more.

All    information contained in the pages of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids blog – NFR6K Blog, blog posts, site, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest or elsewhere are for information & research only.

Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids  &  NFR6K Reviews

To contact me to review your product go here.

More products I love by Tropical Traditions:    Gold Label Virgin Coconut oil  –  Green label Virgin coconut oil  –  Palm Oil  –  Palm shortening  –  Extra Virgin Olive oil  –  Black Cumin Seed oil  –  Organic Sesame oil  –  Coconut water Vinegar  –  Organic Apple cider vinegar  –  Balsamic vinegar  –  Pink Himalayan salt  –  Organic spices  –  Organic Whole Unbleached Sugar  –  Grass-Fed butter  & more.

If you order by clicking on any of my links & order from Tropical Traditions & have never ordered from them in the past, you might receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, & I will receive a discount coupon for referring you”

back nfr6k

_______________________________________________________

I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. Thank you for reading my blog & supporting me on the journey to share #NFR6K Cheree

Leave a Reply

