Simple to make Raw Milk Kefir Cheese (soft cheese)

So easy to make, so good for you, so many uses.

Kefir cheese is a raw soft cheese with the probiotic punch of milk kefir.

Simple to make Milk Kefir Cheese.jpg

The steps I am going to tell you how to do create a soft creamy cheese in about 12 hours with less hassle than normal cheese. Yes you can still do it the other way, but why?


Do not forget to read my milk kefir info: Milk kefir how to, Directions, recipe, troubleshooting and FAQ’s

Click here to buy kombuchas, kefirs & accessories.


I make a lot of milk kefir cheese, I probably use over half the milk kefir I make for kefir cheese. I have tried varying ways to make it, but found this to be the easiest fastest way & to yield the best results for a spreadable cheese that you can easily mix whatever you want in it to flavor it.

This recipe makes a nice soft milk kefir cheese similar to cream cheese & can be used to replace cream cheese in recipes if desired.

You can also pull it in less time to get a more sour cream like consistency.

This cheese is raw depending on the milk you use.


Directions:

Once my milk kefir is done & I have removed my grains & started new batches of milk kefir this is what I do to make cheese.

  1. As pictured I add 2 non bleached coffee filters into a funnel on top of a jar.kefir cheese.jpg
  2. I then pour the desired amount of milk kefir into the filter (I usually fit 3/4 a quart per filter/funnel).
  3. I cover the whole thing in good quality plastic wrap (wrapping the top part of jar too), this keeps bugs out & also holds the funnel in places.
  4. I allow to drip 6 hours (or more no biggie here).
  5. I then remove the filters & sit on a plate.
  6. Scrape all the cheese to the center of the filters with plastic spoon (optional but you can change to 2 new filters now if you prefer & put the ball of cheese you scrapped in the center).
  7. Wrap the filter & slightly squeeze & sit back in funnel, recover & allow to drip another 5 or 6 hours. (until it is like soft cheese & not runny).
  8. When finished sit filter on plate.
  9. Using a plastic spoon scrape the cheese into a bowl, season how you like, seal & eat when desired.

Or you can do the even easier way:

  1. As pictured I add 2 non bleached coffee filters into a funnel on top of a jar.
  2. I then pour the desired amount of milk kefir into the filter (I usually fit 3/4 a quart per filter/funnel).
  3. I cover the whole thing in good quality plastic wrap (wrapping the top part of jar too), this keeps bugs out & also holds the funnel in places.
  4. I allow to drip 12 to 14 hours (until it is like soft cheese & not runny).
  5. When finished sit filter on plate.
  6. Using a plastic spoon scrape the cheese into a bowl, season how you like, seal & eat when desired.

Oh do not throw all that amazing whey away either, so many uses for it, fermenting vegetables, for conditioning hair, in baking, for gravies, tenderizing meats, smoothies on pet food & more including making ricotta cheese. (a future blog post on uses maybe?)


Ideas to flavor:

Kefir cheese just plain most do not like, me I do like it, but I do realize it is not everyone else cup of tea.

  1. Simply season with salt & pepper
  2. use lemon or lime juice
  3. add Italian or Ranch flavoring
  4. Do french onion
  5. Add to kefered milk to thicken into yogurt.
  6. Get creative
  7. I will also share some of our favorites in the future.

You can buy these on Amazon:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Simple to make Milk Kefir Cheese


Affiliate & Referral links:  I do when I can have links that are affiliate or referral links, not all links on my blog, pages & posts are affiliate or referral links. (More info here)

I will  share links to buy products on  Amazon  anytime I can, I thank you for your support.

______________________

Follow me:  Facebook  –  Pinterest  –  Google+  –  Instagram  (Raising6kids) –   Twitter  @NaturalCheree

Click here to learn where buy some of my favorite products  such as coconut oil, colloidal silver & more.

All    information contained in the pages of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids blog – NFR6K Blog, blog posts, site, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest or elsewhere are for information & research only.

Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids  &  NFR6K Reviews

To contact me to review your product go here.

More products I love by Tropical Traditions:    Gold Label Virgin Coconut oil  –  Green label Virgin coconut oil  –  Palm Oil  –  Palm shortening  –  Extra Virgin Olive oil  –  Black Cumin Seed oil  –  Organic Sesame oil  –  Coconut water Vinegar  –  Organic Apple cider vinegar  –  Balsamic vinegar  –  Pink Himalayan salt  –  Organic spices  –  Organic Whole Unbleached Sugar  –  Grass-Fed butter  & more.

If you order by clicking on any of my links & order from Tropical Traditions & have never ordered from them in the past, you might receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, & I will receive a discount coupon for referring you”

back nfr6k

_______________________________________________________

I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. Thank you for reading my blog & supporting me on the journey to share #NFR6K Cheree

Leave a Reply

