Second Fermenting: Kombucha tea Recipes

Adding flavor in the second ferment

Learn how to make amazing Probiotic drinks the whole family will love using Kombucha tea.

Second Fermenting Kombucha tea Recipes

I want to share with you some of our favorite second ferment flavors for Kombucha tea. But you can use your imagination & get creative.

Click here to buy kombuchas, kefirs & accessories.


First of course go read my Kombucha tea (KT): Recipe – How to – Ideas – Probiotic – SCOBY


I like to pull my kombucha tea at around day 10, sometimes in the summer I pull it sooner. After removing the cultures & restarting the kombucha tea I then always second ferment some of the tea.kombucha strawberry

I tend to do either 1 qt second ferments or half gallon second ferments. But I have done second ferments in the flip top bottles (16 Ounce Grolsch Bottles with EZ Caps for Fermenting Kombucha, Resealable and Reusable, Flip Top Caps, Amber Set of 6).

I like to do quart jars the first time I do a flavor so if we do not like it we do not have a bunch. And it also gives us more flavor choices to use the tea for. I can also take out the floating fruit & add the second ferment to the above mentioned flip top jars in the fridge.

If it is a flavor my kids totally love I make it in half gallon batches & can leave it the jars for pouring in a glass to drink or strain out fruit & bottle.


The way I second ferment is different than some do it but it works well for us, I will tell you how we do it.

  1. I never over fill my jars, I leave an inch or 2 at the top so the ferment can bubble if kombucha pineappleneeded.
  2. I decide what amount of my freshly pulled kombucha tea I want to flavor.
  3. I then get my jars ready making sure they are clean & rinsing them in white vinegar (& not rinsing it off).
  4. In the bottom of the jars I add my flavor choices (I will share those below).
  5. Then I add my tea over that (not over filling the jar).
  6. stir
  7. Cover with good quality plastic wrap.
  8. Secure the plastic wrap with the ring from the canning jar or a rubber band.
  9. Sit in a dark cupboard 24 hours
  10. Use a straw & taste,
  11. if the flavor is well blended in I then move the jar to the fridge for another few days or a week tasting it daily.
  12. Drink or bottle at your desired taste.
  13. We prefer the taste around day 3 or 4 (that was one day in cupboard & two or three days in fridge).

Flavors we love:

I buy fruits when on sale, wash, cube & freeze so I have them ready to use. The amounts are what we use for a quart jar. Double or triple the amounts by the size of your jar or own kombucha mangotaste.

I also like to squeeze any juice out of the fruits I can into the tea, and at 24 hours I squeeze them again.

Fruit punch blend: (kids love this one)

  • 2 whole strawberry cut up
  • 10 or so blueberries cut in half
  • half a lemon sliced
  • half of a lime sliced
  • couple cubes mango
  • couple cubes pineapple
  • 1/4 of an apple cubed

Pineapple amazing-ness (One of my personal favorites).

  • 1/2 cup or so cubed fresh pineapple
  • 1/4 of an apple cubed

Lemon Ginger: (great for stomach issues or for cold & flu).

  • 1 whole lemon sliced
  • Half cup of fresh ginger peeled & cubed

Blueberry cran-applekombucha blueberry cran

  • 10 or so dried cranberries
  • 10 or so blueberries cut in half
  • 1/2 cubed apple

Lemon Lime:

  • 1/2 lemon sliced
  • 1/2 lime sliced
  • Make sure to add extra lime & lemon juice, squeeze the whole lemon & lime into it if needed.

Mango Honey:

  • 1/2 or so cup of cubed mango
  • 1/4 cup raw honey (I very rarely add honey because it is another strain of bacteria).

And check out my blog post on making coffee-bucha


Info I have on second fermenting in the directions I have here: Kombucha tea (KT): Recipe – How to – Ideas – Probiotic – SCOBY
How to do the secondary fermentation fizz & flavor info:
Secondary fermentation (will also add fizz): After straining your fermented K-tea into a glass Jar for storing in fridge,cover the opening of the jar with plastic wrap,then loosely screw on lid.Sit on the counter in a out of the way spot (doesn’t have to be dark,just not in direct sun) sit for 2-3 days max,strain then refrigerate as normal. Make sure to only slightly/loosely screw on the lid as CO2 will build up, watch jar for overflowing,release CO2 a few times.

second-ferment-kombucha

Don’t add flavors like~soda,carbonated water,Crystal light,Kool-Aid & gatoraid etc,for optimal health & they cause poor results.

Never use any of the kombucha tea that had flavors added as starter tea & never use any cultures that might form during secondary fermentation to make kombucha tea. 


What to buy needed supplies (on Amazon)

Second Fermenting Kombucha tea Recipes

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Affiliate & Referral links:  I do when I can have links that are affiliate or referral links, not all links on my blog, pages & posts are affiliate or referral links. (More info here)

I will  share links to buy products on  Amazon  anytime I can, I thank you for your support.

______________________

Follow me:  Facebook  –  Pinterest  –  Google+  –  Instagram  (Raising6kids) –   Twitter  @NaturalCheree

Click here to learn where buy some of my favorite products  such as coconut oil, colloidal silver & more.

All    information contained in the pages of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids blog – NFR6K Blog, blog posts, site, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest or elsewhere are for information & research only.

Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids  &  NFR6K Reviews

To contact me to review your product go here.

More products I love by Tropical Traditions:    Gold Label Virgin Coconut oil  –  Green label Virgin coconut oil  –  Palm Oil  –  Palm shortening  –  Extra Virgin Olive oil  –  Black Cumin Seed oil  –  Organic Sesame oil  –  Coconut water Vinegar  –  Organic Apple cider vinegar  –  Balsamic vinegar  –  Pink Himalayan salt  –  Organic spices  –  Organic Whole Unbleached Sugar  –  Grass-Fed butter  & more.

If you order by clicking on any of my links & order from Tropical Traditions & have never ordered from them in the past, you might receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, & I will receive a discount coupon for referring you”

back nfr6k

_______________________________________________________

I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. Thank you for reading my blog & supporting me on the journey to share #NFR6K Cheree

Leave a Reply

