Homemade Oxygen Bleach Recipe (DIY Oxybleach)

All things natural and homemade, Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids Blog.

back nfr6k

If you are like me & love the results of using oxygen bleach but do not love the price, you will love these recipes.


I have found these homemade DIY versions not only to work as good as commercial brands but in many cases because you are making it fresh & using it right then they work better. So my best advice is not to make up more of these mixtures than you can use in several baking-soda-peroxidehours or at least the same day. The effectiveness decreases the longer it is mixed.

I have even found myself just mixing right in the washing machine. Having each thing needed & adding to the wash water the amount I need, mixing in & adding the clothes.

These recipes do work better for dingy clothing or stained clothing if they are left to soak over night. For things that need soaking I try to use 1 cup of each or more per wash load (Peroxide, Baking soda &/or Super washing soda). And adding to hot laundry water works better. For general laundry booster I just add a smaller amount to every wash load.

Has varying uses from the dish washer, sink of dishes, to using the damp paste for scrubbing into clothing or using like soft scrub in the bathroom or kitchen.

These recipes will all have hydrogen peroxide in them. Recipes that call for baking soda washing-sodausually call for hot water for the proper reaction. Super washing soda can be used the same way as baking soda, you can use both or use them interchangeably in these recipes.

Reminder: When handling Super washing soda you might want to wear gloves. Also you can easily make your own Washing soda using baking soda, learn how you can cheaply make your own here

I also have a great liquid bleach alternative recipe blog post I encourage you to check out: A DIY Life: DIY Natural Bleach Alternative – Laundry – Booster – Softener – Cleaner – All in one

I like to add a few drops of essential oils to these recipes, I personally find Lemon, Eucalyptus or Peppermint work best.


I have the basic recipe for this oxygen bleach in my blog post: #1 A DIY Laundry Room: How to be Green & Healthy

The pre made basic Oxygen Bleach recipe:

  • 2 parts boiling water
  • 1 part baking soda (or Super washing soda)
  • 1 part peroxide

Mix into together the amount you need & will use within the same day.baking-soda
Use less liquid for a damp crumble, for a liquid version add more peroxide &/or boiling water.
Apply to stains & scrub in & let sit then launder as normal.
Add 1/2 cup to 2 cups of combined mixture to wash water & mix in, add clothes & allow to soak over night then wash as normal.


Alternative recipe ideas.


Soaking clothes in bath tub over night:

  • Fill tub with enough hot water
  • Add 1 to 2 cups peroxide
  • 1 to 2 cups baking soda (or washing soda)

Pre treat spots on clothing with a damp paste (crumble):

Note: For this recipe I do not like using washing soda, I prefer to use all baking soda or maybe just a little bit of washing soda mixed in.

I add the amount of baking soda I think I will need in a small bowl, lets say for example 1 cup of baking soda. I then start adding small amounts of peroxide, like a tsp at a time. Using a fork I keep mixing in the peroxide to the baking soda until & just barely damp baking soda crumble is made. It is less wet than a paste. You can also add just a bit of peroxideOriginal Dawn Dish soap or a natural liquid soap like a Castile soap to this mixture. Dr. Woods Pure Castile Soap with Peppermint or Dr. Bronner’s Organic  Liquid Castile Soap

For pre-treating stains on clothing: Simply rub into stain with a toothbrush & let sit over night. Then launder as normal.

Soft scrub: This mixture makes a great soft scrub for cleaning up in the bathroom or kitchen, especially when mixed with liquid soap. I also like to add essential oils.

Dishwasher or sink of dishes: I like to add a couple tablespoons of each to either dishwasher or sink of dishes.


Using in washing machine:

As I mentioned above you can just add right to hot washer water or you can pre mix & add to washer & then let clothes that are dingy or stained soak over night. Or just run the load for general washing.

I like to add extra amounts for over night soaking, so of the pre made basic mix like a cup or 2.

For general washing I ad 1/4 to 1/2 cup of the pre made basic mix.


Spray version:

I like to mix up a spray version of the oxygen bleach that is great for general cleaning, spot peroxide-spraytreating clothing & more.

  • Empty 32 oz peroxide spray bottle
  • Sprayer to screw on the bottle
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup of boiling water
  • 1 to 2 tsp baking soda
  • Peroxide

In a bowl add your baking soda & then add the boiling water & mix together until baking soda is dissolved, let cool & mix again, add to peroxide bottle. Fill up the rest of the bottle with peroxide leaving enough room to shake. Add spray top like pictures. Shake before use. Great with essential oils added.


Other blog post you might like to read:

oxygen-bleach-recipe


Affiliate & Referral links:  I do when I can have links that are affiliate or referral links, not all links on my blog, pages & posts are affiliate or referral links. (More info here)

I will  share links to buy products on  Amazon  anytime I can, I thank you for your support.

______________________

Follow me:  Facebook  –  Pinterest  –  Google+  –  Instagram  (Raising6kids) –   Twitter  @NaturalCheree

Click here to learn where buy some of my favorite products  such as coconut oil, colloidal silver & more.

All    information contained in the pages of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids blog – NFR6K Blog, blog posts, site, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest or elsewhere are for information & research only.

Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids  &  NFR6K Reviews

To contact me to review your product go here.

More products I love by Tropical Traditions:    Gold Label Virgin Coconut oil  –  Green label Virgin coconut oil  –  Palm Oil  –  Palm shortening  –  Extra Virgin Olive oil  –  Black Cumin Seed oil  –  Organic Sesame oil  –  Coconut water Vinegar  –  Organic Apple cider vinegar  –  Balsamic vinegar  –  Pink Himalayan salt  –  Organic spices  –  Organic Whole Unbleached Sugar  –  Grass-Fed butter  & more.

If you order by clicking on any of my links & order from Tropical Traditions & have never ordered from them in the past, you might receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, & I will receive a discount coupon for referring you”

back nfr6k

_______________________________________________________

I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. Thank you for reading my blog & supporting me on the journey to share #NFR6K Cheree

Leave a Reply

