Homemade Gum massage oil Supports Healthy Teeth & Gums – DIY Dental Care/ Oral Hygiene – Brush teeth – Tooth Polish

This is my tried & true recipe after trial & error & a lot of research, heals my gums, stops pain, soreness, swelling & redness, freshens breath, cleans teeth & is all around great.

gum oil 5

First let me break this oil down for you, what is in it & why, in some cases what made me try using that to brush my teeth to begin with, other uses for this oil & read on for actual recipe with amounts & variations.

The first 4 ingredients really are the most important to this combo, so you can if needed add the others later but at least gum oil 4start with raw Coconut oil, Castor oil, Frankincense essential oil & Myrrh essential oil.

Reminder this is what I do after lots of research & deciding what I wanted, please do your own research, sharing this for informational purposes only. Be careful with essential oils, for some they may cause irritation, maybe start off with very low amounts to see how you react. Not all the oils linked to that I use are labeled for oral care.

The ingredients breakdown:

#1 Coconut oil: Real raw virgin coconut oil, not fractionated, refined, expeller pressed or so called natural brands. Coconut oil is amazing for oral health, I already share many recipes for toothpaste with raw coconut oil & oil pulling too.  Coconut oil inhibits the growth of most strains of Streptococcus bacteria, including acid-producing bacterium helping to prevent tooth decay, all while being antiviral, antibacterial, antifungal, anti-inflammatory & analgesic, while being soothing & healing. Making coconut oil a fluoride free, toxin free, naturally effective against cavity causing bacteria as swell as it has whitening effects for many people.

*** Brands of coconut oil I recommend. A good quality brand can not be stressed enough, yes it is solid in cooler temps & yes it is liquid in warmer temps but mixing it with liquid oil will make it easier to use.

#2 Castor oil: Again buy good quality castor oil, this means avoiding the toxin laden drug store brands & finding a quality castor oil is a must. Castor oil is great for mouth pain, I even add it with coconut oil to my oil pulling routine several times a gum oil 2week, it also has whitening abilities for some people. Castor oil much like coconut oil it is antiviral, antibacterial, antifungal, anti-inflammatory & analgesic.

*** (I started off using black castor oil, this one, but then was told I should not use it in my mouth so stopped, though I liked the results from it much better & it was great at whitening, I had used it 6 months before being told not to, so um, ok, I stopped but not happy). Now I use this castor oil, but any quality castor oil you research will be fine.

#3 Frankincense & #4 Myrrh essential oils: Yes normally for pain I would recommend clove oil or thieves oil & you can add a drop of them if you like, but for this particular recipe I found the combo of frankincense & myrrh the be by far the best to add. Frankincense has antiseptic, antibacterial, stimulating, analgesic, astringent, anti-inflammatory, & expectorant properties, to help prevent bad breath, cavities, toothaches, mouth sores, & other infections. Myrrh is antibacterial, antifungal, antimicrobial, astringent, expectorant, antiseptic, tonic, anti-inflammatory & antispasmodic. Myrrh is a great breath freshener that is natural, it is great for oral & dental care because of its actions against the harmful organisms that cause bad breath, but that is not all myrrh is also good for gums, reducing the redness & swelling.

***I use this this frankincense & this myrrh right now but have used the Florihana ones, & I have used other frankincense myrrh sold on Amazon. Fans have also said they like this combo deal but I have not tried it.

#5 Neem oil: I don’t think I again need to say it, but oh well here goes, a quality brand of neem oil is important. Neem oil has powerful antimicrobial & antifungal properties, neem has been tested to lower dental plaque, bacteria & tarter while gum oil 3being healing & soothing. Just a little research into neem shows it to prevent gum disease, heal gum disease, freshen breath, help treat inflammation of gums, prevent bacteria from sticking to teeth, improve oral & dental health & prevent cavities.

***Neem oil is pretty easy to find in healthfood stores or online, you can also find it in powder form for making tooth powder. I got this neem oil.

#6 Flax seed oil: Flax oil is anti inflammatory, antioxidant, antibacterial,anti-fungal, & antiviral properties, I originally added it simply because it sounded like a good idea, then when I researched & found out how great it was for dental care I knew it was a winner. Flax seed oil is commonly used to stop & prevent bleeding gums, something so many of us deal with, I must point out it best heals bleeding gums by using it this way & taking it. It is in general good for gum health & I love how my mouth feels with even the small amount I add to this mixture.

***Because I also take flax seed oil I just pop open gelcaps to add to this mixture & this is the only brand of flax seed gelcaps I have ever used, it works so why change things? As a side note freeze your flax seed oil gelcaps to take them, they stay fresh longer, you swallow them easier, less burps & seem to be more effective, I learned this recently (can also free coconut oil, fish oil, omega 3s, cod liver oil, vitamin d etc gelcaps).

#7 Fennel essential oil: Yes it taste & smells like licorice, if you like licorice use more if you do not like me use less (in below recipe). Fennel essential oil is antiparasitic, antiseptic, antispasmodic, antitoxic, tonic & expectorant, great to freshen breath, healing, used post surgery, & is great in the fight against plaque.

***I did not have fennel oil until I read about using it for dental care, I only recently added it to this mixture & I bought this brand of fennel essential oil. 

#8 Eucalyptus Globulus essential oil: What? you say, yup I bet you did not know just how amazing Eucalyptus is for oral & dental care? It is one of those less is more oils so do not over do it, I also love to add it to my oil pulling. Eucalyptus gum oil 1essential oil is  antibacterial, anti-inflammatory, antispasmodic, decongestant, deodorant, antiseptic, stimulating, & other qualities that make it amazing in dental care. Nothing seems to work better for healing gum infections & freshening breath, as well as well as improving periodontal health. This oil is effective against gingivitis, plaque, cavities & dental infections.

***I really have been very partial to the flavor & effectiveness of the Florihana Eucalyptus Globulus essential oil, but sometimes they are sold out just when I need it so finally I also found this brand I like (thank goodness the ones I do not like for dental care can be used in my humidifier, diffuser & in cleaning etc).

#9 Tea tree oil: This is the original essential oil I ever used for dental & oral care & It is effective so no way will I be not using it in my combo. But again less is more with tea tree oil. Great in the gingivitis fight, & dealing with toothache pain, tea tree is antiseptic, anti-fungal, anti bacterial, antimicrobial & anti-inflammatory. Tea tree is refreshing, healing, soothing. Tea tree oil is commonly used in toothpastes & mouthwash & is great for healing oral candida (thrush).

*** I have been using this tea tree oil for awhile now for oral & skin care & prefer the taste of it over other brands.

#10 Avocado oil & #11 Black seed oil: Both optional & both used just drops each. Avocado has antiseptic & anti-inflammatory properties that kill bacteria responsible for tooth decay, periodontal disease & bad breath & prevents & heals inflammation in your mouth. Black seed oil is anti bacterial, anti viral & anti inflammatory, Black seed oil is great for stopping a toothache in its tracks for me.

*** I use this avocado oil & this black seed oil

Recipe time:

You will notice in my pictures I am using a squeeze bottle, that is left over from my black castor oil, it is a 4oz bottle & I just made this recipe yesterday & have used it about 3 to 4 times on my teeth & gums & once on my skin before bed last night (face, hands, neck). This bottle was never full, so it was barely fuller than pictured so this recipe makes about 3 ounces more or less, don’t panic the ratios are subjective to your likes & only a guide. I am an eye it kinda measuring person so bear with me on this,

FYI stick to small batches,do not make double or triple batches unless really needed for best effectiveness.

  • 2 ounces raw coconut oil
  • 1/2 ounce castor oil
  • 5 to 20 drops each frankincense & myrrh
  • You can stop here & go to directions or continue
  • 1/8 to 1/4 tsp neem oil
  • 2 gelcaps flax seed oil (break open & squeeze in).
  • 1 drop fennel essential oil (you can add more if desired, just use less of another essential oil or use several drops peppermint or both).
  • 5 drops eucalyptus essential oil
  • 1 to 4 drops tea tree oil
  • 1/8 to 1/4 ts each of avocado & black seed oil
  • Optional Clove essential oil, turmeric essential oil & thieves essential oil 1 drop each


  • Simply put the lid on & shake & it is ready to go, if coconut oil is solid before using sit in warm (not hot) water to liquify.
  • In the morning I oil pull spit, then brush with a tooth powder, rinse, then use this oil, other times of the day I will use a tooth powder first if I feel it is needed then this oil after rinsing.
  • I add about 5, 10 or so drops right on my toothbrush & brush my teeth & gums, for better effects I spend extra time massaging gums with my finger or with toothbrush (try to let oil sit on teeth a gums a few minutes).Only lightly rinse mouth after oil.
  • For toothpowder I have recipes here & here. Go here to buy a tooth powder on Amazon if you would rather not make it yourself.
  • You can of course add it to your toothbrush with baking soda or tooth powder or use them separately.
  • Using this oil just before bed & not rinsing it out has been amazing for issues I had as well. I brush it in like above after brushing & spit out excess.

For skin etc:

  • Amazing the same combo as long as you do not over do the fennel & eucalyptus is great for skin, I like to use it before bed after washing my face.
  • I have even in a rush just put some of this on a spoon for oil pulling.
  • I have also found this mixture great for bites & sting.
  • Great put in the ear canal for ear health & for ear pain & infections as well

Have you tried a Woo Bamboo Toothbrush? My family loves them


Affiliate & Referral links: I do when I can have links that are affiliate or referral links, not all links on my blog, pages & posts are affiliate or referral links. (More info here)

I will share links to buy products on Amazon anytime I can, I thank you for your support.


Follow me: Facebook – Pinterest – Google+ – Instagram (Raising6kids) –  Twitter @NaturalCheree

Click here to learn where buy some of my favorite products such as coconut oil, colloidal silver & more.

All  information contained in the pages of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids blog – NFR6K Blog, blog posts, site, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest or elsewhere are for information & research only.

Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids & NFR6K Reviews

To contact me to review your product go here.

More products I love by Tropical Traditions:  Gold Label Virgin Coconut oil – Green label Virgin coconut oil – Palm Oil – Palm shortening – Extra Virgin Olive oil – Black Cumin Seed oil – Organic Sesame oil – Coconut water Vinegar – Organic Apple cider vinegar – Balsamic vinegar – Pink Himalayan salt – Organic spices – Organic Whole Unbleached Sugar – Grass-Fed butter & more.

If you order by clicking on any of my links & order from Tropical Traditions & have never ordered from them in the past, you might receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, & I will receive a discount coupon for referring you”

back nfr6k


I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. Thank you for reading my blog & supporting me on the journey to share #NFR6K Cheree

Leave a Reply

