Encore post: Homemade DIY Bug Repellent and Stop Itch – Keep Insects Away Naturally

DIY Insect repellent – DIY Stop itch

back nfr6k

You asked me to share this [post again so here it is….

We have literally tried like 30 different DIY bug spray, rubs, wipes etc that are supposed to repel insects & every one my 13-year-old daughter still got chewed up & not one stopped no see ums to. Yea most worked for myself & some of my kids but my daughter just kept getting welted up & we all ran for the house when no see ums came out. Finally after all that totally by accident I repellent 2created the formula that works for keeping my daughter from getting bit up & works for no see ums too. It of course also repels mosquitoes & biting flies as well. I really hope it works for every one of you as well as it does for us & that you find out the bogs are leaving you alone. Oh & by the way we also discovered this same recipe stops itching from bug bites too.

Here it is the great insect repellent & stop itch all in one

Buy 1 bottle of real pure Witch Hazel (16 ounces), if it is to full you may need to use a bit on your face or something, add these essential oils: 30 drops Lavender, 30 drops Peppermint, 30 drops Tea tree & 15 to 20 drops Eucalyptus, add them right into the bottle of Witch Hazel, shake & that is it. Optional add 5 to 10 drops Lemongrass , or  20 drops Litsea Cubeba (or May Chang)

You can either add some to a small spray bottle & spray it on, rub it on by pouring into your repellent 1hand right out of the bottle or add some to a cotton ball or paper towel & rub on. So simple to make & works so great & as an added bonus great for skin & health to. Let the kids help you mix it up, mine love helping with DIY recipes.

I did use a cheap bottle of witch hazel for the picture & to mix this into for using, but make sure you use 100% pure & natural Witch Hazel for the proper effect like Dickinson’s brand

Also makes a great hair product for no poo & a great skin cleaner when mixed with baking soda or straight. If you get exposed to poison ivy or oak you can use this mixture to was area before you have a reaction if no soap & water, or vinegar is available.

Witch Hazel is considered safe & gentile for newborns,  babies, Toddlers & children & is even used in DIY baby wipe formulas. I do recommend that you get pure Witch Hazel for Newborns or those with sensitive skin issues because most Witch hazel has Alcohol in it. As a great plus all 4 of the essential oils used are also considered safe for  newborns,  babies, Toddlers & children (go here for more info). As always I do recommend doing research & discontinuing if you have issues.


Reviews: My product reviews the company provided me with a reduced price or free item(s) or sample(s) of the product(s) mentioned above in my review, I was under no obligation to review it, nor was I under any obligation to only write a positive review. My reviews are my honest opinion after personally trying the product & feeling confident in it. When it comes to products I do not like, that cause issues or if it was a negative experience I will not review them & contact the company telling them why. So If the review has made it to my blog it is because I love it & recommend it to everyone & I am happy to have used the product.

Affiliate & Referral links: I do when I can have links that are affiliate or referral links, not all links on my blog, pages & posts are affiliate or referral links. (More info here)

I will share links to buy products on Amazon anytime I can, I thank you for your support.


Follow me: Facebook – Pinterest – Google+ – Instagram (Raising6kids) –  Twitter @NaturalCheree

Click here to learn where buy some of my favorite products such as coconut oil, colloidal silver & more.

All  information contained in the pages of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids blog – NFR6K Blog, blog posts, site, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest or elsewhere are for information & research only.

Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids & NFR6K Reviews

To contact me to review your product go here.

More products I love by Tropical Traditions:  Gold Label Virgin Coconut oil – Green label Virgin coconut oil – Palm Oil – Palm shortening – Extra Virgin Olive oil – Black Cumin Seed oil – Organic Sesame oil – Coconut water Vinegar – Organic Apple cider vinegar – Balsamic vinegar – Pink Himalayan salt – Organic spices – Organic Whole Unbleached Sugar – Grass-Fed butter & more.

If you order by clicking on any of my links & order from Tropical Traditions & have never ordered from them in the past, you might receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, & I will receive a discount coupon for referring you”

back nfr6k


I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. Thank you for reading my blog & supporting me on the journey to share #NFR6K Cheree

2 thoughts on “Encore post: Homemade DIY Bug Repellent and Stop Itch – Keep Insects Away Naturally

  1. Reblogged this on 40 lbs Lighter's Blog and commented:
    I love how effective home made insect repellant is. I’ve already made my first batch of the Summer. Here is a simple recipe that I am re-blogging.

Leave a Reply

