The Moosewood Cookbook 40th Anniversary Edition by Mollie Katzen (book review)

The Moosewood Cookbook has inspired generations to cook simple, healthy, and seasonal food. A classic listed as one of the top ten best-selling cookbooks of all time by the NeYork Times, this 40th anniversary edition of Mollie Katzen’s seminal book will be a treasured addition to the cookbook libraries of fans young and old.moosewood cookbook

I love cookbooks that have recipes that teach to cook healthy yet simple, the Moosewood cookbook is just that & has fast become a cookbook I can grab to show my girls (& boys) how to cook a favorite dish or side. I love the nostalgic feeling of books from my youth the cover has, it takes me back just like the recipes inside. My 14-year-old daughter is really into cooking & loves to get in the kitchen with me & cook & even to teach the 2 younger kids to cook. So she always gets excited about new cookbooks & opens them & gets lost in them like they are novels. So by the time I got to open & check out the Moosewood cookbook she already had pages marked for recipes she is going to try right away.

I found these recipes marked by her, Basic Corn Bread page 114, Samosas page 170, Gado Gado page 180, Apple Custard Pie page 202 & Yogurt Cream Cheese Pie page 210. Ultimately the Basic Corn Bread won out & is the recipe she made first, the reason she gave is corn bread sounded great to go with turkey & rice.

But before I get to the cornbread recipe let me tell you a bit more about the book, you will not find photos but there are drawn pictures like charcoal drawing & I love that, it fits perfectly with the feel of this book. This is the 40th edition & in the cornbreadIntroduction section there is a great story on the history of the Moosewood cookbook. The other contents of the book are Pantry notes – Some useful tools – Table of contents – Soups – Salads – Sauces & dips – A few baked things & sandwiches – Entrees – Desserts – Index.

Now to the corn bread, it is an easy recipe that has 2 variations, Mexican Corn & Cheese bread – Blueberry corn bread. My daughter did a kinda mix between the Basic corn bread & the Mexican because she added the corn to the Basic. Turn cornmeal, flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, yogurt, egg, honey, butter & corn into an amazing corn bread that did indeed go well with turkey & rice.

Overall I think this is a great cookbook to recommend to my fans, & I am happy to add it to my collection to pass down to my kids & I know it will be used a lot for teaching my kids & for enjoying time together cooking.

More info on the Moosewood Cookbook 

Written by Mollie Katzen


“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

One thought on “The Moosewood Cookbook 40th Anniversary Edition by Mollie Katzen (book review)

Leave a Reply

