The Kitchn Cookbook – Recipes, Kitchens & Tips to Inspire Your Cooking – Book review – Homeschool Teaching Idea

From Apartment Therapy’s cooking site, The Kitchn, comes 150 recipes and a cooking school with 50 essential lessons, as well as a guide to organizing your kitchen–plus storage tips, tool reviews, inspiration from real kitchens, maintenance suggestions, 200 photographs, and much

This hard cover book is perfect way to teach my 14 year old high school daughter the beginnings of Culinary arts, I homeschool & she has chosen this as an elective. She has loved loved reading this book & has gone on & on talking about the things she has learned from it & trying different things in it. I swear the way she has gone on you would think it was a best selling novel & that is amazing. After all a cookbook that can keep a teenager involved is the best teaching tool ever.

This is a hardcover cookbook & has a Part 1 & a Part 2 that breaks the book up into the best ways to cook & how to accomplish it. Part 1 is titled “The Kitchen”  And has 3 Chapters in it, #1 “Setting up the Kitchen”, #2 “Tools” & #3 “Caring for your kitchen”. Part 2 in titled “How to cook well” with 4 Chapters in it, #4 “Stocking the pantry & planning meals”, #5 “The Kitchen’s cooking school”, #6 “The recipes”, & #7 “Gathering”. So as you can se it is great for anyone who loves to cook as well as being a great teaching aid & helping a person learn to organize & cook properly.

So my daughter actually has book marked page 73 “Daily cleaning plan for a constantly clean kitchen” & there is a chart and everything that she is implementing & assigning her siblings to help maintain.

For her first recipe from The Kitchn Cookbook she decided to make the “One-bowl birthday butter cake with double chocolate frosting” from page 250. She did make a few substitutions for healthier baking such as einkorn flour, natural salt, whole sugar, organic eggs for the cake & natural dark chocolate etc for the frosting. The recipe did turn out amazing & was a hit in our family of 8 & a nice fresh made treat, & her presentation was great too.

So for other homeschool parents who are trying to figure out cookbooks that will help teach, check out this book, you wont be sorry.

My 14 year old Daughters words she typed in a Facebook status about The Kitchn Cookbook: I didnt think i would like doing culinary art at first but i really love it. My mom got me a book free from her blog and let me say im in Love. It tells you how to set up your kitchen to yourstyle of cooking wich i will be doing. It also gives you tips on how to keep your kitchen clean using a chart wich i will be making and a food chart wich i will start doing as it is part of the culinary art were you plan ahead. It has plenty of wonderful recipes. And pictures, also things on helping you keep your kitchen and pantry organized. I so love love love this book I know i will put it to good use and do probably everything in it.

Written by Sara Kate Gillingham and Faith Durand.

More info on The Kitchn Cookbook

“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”


Follow me: Facebook – Pinterest – Google+ – Instagram (Raising6kids) –  Twitter @NaturalCheree

Click here to learn where buy some of my favorite products.

All  information contained in the pages of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids blog – NFR6K Blog, blog posts, site, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest or elsewhere are for information & research only.

My blogs: Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kidsNFR6K BloggerNFR6K DIY Green CleaningNaturally Teen Approved NFR6K Reviews

I do accept products to review on my blog: Contact me to review your product go here.

More products I love by Tropical Traditions:  Gold Label Virgin Coconut oil – Green label Virgin coconut oil – Palm Oil – Palm shortening – Extra Virgin Olive oil – Black Cumin Seed oil – Organic Sesame oil – Coconut water Vinegar – Organic Apple cider vinegar – Balsamic vinegar – Pink Himalayan salt – Organic spices – Organic Whole Unbleached Sugar – Grass-Fed butter & more.

If you order by clicking on any of my links & order from Tropical Traditions & have never ordered from them in the past, you might receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, & I will receive a discount coupon for referring you”


back nfr6k

Check out my Disclaimers & Policies page here.

If this post contains an alternative remedy remember I am not a Dr.

Reviews: If this is a review the company provided me reduced priced or free products/sample(s) of the item being reviewed, I was under no obligation to review it, nor was I under any obligation to only write a positive review. My reviews are my honest opinion. When it comes to products I do not like, that cause issues or if it was a negative experience I will not review it & contact the company telling them why. So If the review has made it to my blog it is because I love it & recommend it to everyone.


I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. #NFR6K Cheree

Leave a Reply

