Cookbook The Kitchen Ecosystem by Eugenia Bone – Integrating Recipes to Create Delicious Meals (Book Review)

My kind of cookbook, eating fresh, cooking healthy, saving, preserving, storing & using every part that is usable.


I have found a cookbook after my heart. for cooking from scratch, with minimal waste, this cookbook feels made for frugal moms. If you have followed my blog & Facebook page for any length of time you know I believe in as little waste as possible, making family meals & all thing frugal. Using. This cookbook is the way I cook in print, each meal leads to the next meal leaving getting the maximum usage from our food, real food.

Kitchen Ecosystem

Head to the supermarket, farmers market or to your backyard garden & get a copy of this book The Kitchen Ecosystem by Eugenia Bone featuring chapters on using, cooking with & saving Such as Introduction, How to use this book, The Recipes, And Preserving & Recipe Techniques. Just under the subheading “The Recipes” you cab learn great recipes for each of these foods, Apples, Apricots, Artichokes, Asparagus, Beef, Beets with greens, Cabbage, Carrots with greens, Cherries, coleslaw 1Chicken, Corn, Cranberries, Cucumbers, Currants, Duck, Fennel, Figs, Ginger, Grapes, Lemons, Lobster, Mushrooms (Cultured & Wild), Mussels, Onions, Oranges, Peaches, Peas, Peppers (Sweet, Cherry & Hot), Plums, Pork, Radishes with greens, Rhubarb, Saltwater fish, Strawberries, Tomatoes, Trout, Watermelons, Zucchini, And coleslaw 3Condiments, Necessities, & Luxuries.

I decided for the very first recipe to try one with cabbage because well we had a garden fresh winter cabbage sitting here ready to use. I decided to make Marilee’s Coleslaw. The picture of the coleslaw did show the cabbage very finely shredded cabbage, I did decide to just cut ours thicker with a knife, my husband loves coleslaw but prefers the bigger pieces (pictured). I subbed the white whine vinegar for coconut water vinegar, the olive oil for sesame oil, & with the help of my 14 year old daughter made a coleslaw that my husband loved & I am happy to add to our collection of coleslaw recipes fresh from the garden.

The concept of this book is to show you how to cook amazing dishes with as many seasonal ingredients as possible, using some while the ingredients are fresh, & coleslaw 2preserving the rest to use later.

About the book: Paradigm-shifting, The Kitchen Ecosystem will change how we think about food and cooking. Designed to to create and use ingredients that maximize flavor, these 400 recipes are derived from 40 common ingredients–from asparagus to fish to zucchini–used at each stage of its “life cycle”: fresh, preserved, and in a main dish.

 Seasoned cooks know that the secret to great meals is this: the more you cook, the less you actually have to do to produce a delicious meal. The trick is to approach cooking as a continuum, where each meal draws on elements from a previous one and provides the building blocks for another. That synchronicity is a kitchen ecosystem.

Author Bio:  EUGENIA BONE is the author of At Mesa’s Edge and Italian Family Dining. Her work has appeared in Saveur, Food and Wine, Gourmet, the New York Times, and many other publications.

This book would make a great gist for anyone who grows a garden, has a family or just loves to cook.

Click here to buy The Kitchen Ecosystem by Eugenia Bone on Random House

“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”


Follow me: Facebook – Pinterest – Google+ – Instagram (Raising6kids) –  Twitter @NaturalCheree

Click here to learn where buy some of my favorite products.

All  information contained in the pages of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids blog – NFR6K Blog, blog posts, site, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest or elsewhere are for information & research only.

My blogs: Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kidsNFR6K BloggerNFR6K DIY Green CleaningNaturally Teen Approved NFR6K Reviews

I do accept products to review on my blog: Contact me to review your product go here.

More products I love by Tropical Traditions:  Gold Label Virgin Coconut oil – Green label Virgin coconut oil – Palm Oil – Palm shortening – Extra Virgin Olive oil – Black Cumin Seed oil – Organic Sesame oil – Coconut water Vinegar – Organic Apple cider vinegar – Balsamic vinegar – Pink Himalayan salt – Organic spices – Organic Whole Unbleached Sugar – Grass-Fed butter & more.

If you order by clicking on any of my links & order from Tropical Traditions & have never ordered from them in the past, you might receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, & I will receive a discount coupon for referring you”


back nfr6k

Check out my Disclaimers & Policies page here.

If this post contains an alternative remedy remember I am not a Dr.

Reviews: If this is a review the company provided me reduced priced or free products/sample(s) of the item being reviewed, I was under no obligation to review it, nor was I under any obligation to only write a positive review. My reviews are my honest opinion. When it comes to products I do not like, that cause issues or if it was a negative experience I will not review it & contact the company telling them why. So If the review has made it to my blog it is because I love it & recommend it to everyone.


I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. #NFR6K Cheree

Leave a Reply

