Homemade From Scratch Yellow Cake Cupcakes, Butter-Cream Frosting, Shortening Frosting Recipes

Time to bake cupcakes with the kids.

Homemade Recipes: Yellow Cake – Simple Butter-Cream Frosting – Simple Shortening Frosting.

Below I am sharing my kids favorite recipe for homemade cupcakes (or cake) & frosting recipes from scratch, so get your kids in the kitchen baking with you & have fun.

back nfr6k

So yes we love to bake homemade goods, not buy boxed cakes & goodies, & my kids love to get in the kitchen & bake these great homemade treats with me. I homeschool so I can also turn baking into a learning experience & measurements into a mini math class for hands on learning.

We try to keep our baking as healthy as possible & try to stay to better flours like Einkorn or coconut flour etc, we use whole unbleached sugar when possible (the frosting picture below was being made for a party so it was regular white sugar for a brighter color).  I have several variations of these recipes running around on my blog because we are always changing them around to suit our likes. So have fun & figure out your own version of these recipes, I have even added things like spirulina powder, green tea powder, protein powders etc just to change it up.

NFR6K recipes

Recipe for yellow cake cupcakes (use flour of choice):

  • Preheat oven to 350°F.
  • 2 cups flour or cake flour (we like Einkorn flour)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp natural unrefined saltnfr6k baking cups
  • 1/2 cup Palm Shortening
  • 1 tbsp. Raw coconut oil (room temp)
  • 1 cup sugar of choice we use whole unbleached sugar most times.
  • 3 large eggs  do not use cold eggs so let them sit out long enough to be room temp.
  • 3/4 cup of milk of choice such as almond milk or milk kefir
  • Optional: 2 tsp. real vanilla extract (or extract of choice).
  • Optional: instead of 1 cup of sugar add 3/4 cup sugar & 1 tbsp of either yacon syrup, raw honey, pure maple syrup or molasses.

Use a hand mixer or other mixer & mix until well blended & fill baking cup 1/2 to 3/4 full to allow for them to not overflow, sit baking cups on cookie sheet & bake 15 to 25, frost once cooled

frosting recipe

Simple butter cream frosting:

  • 3/4 cup palm shortening room temp
  • 1/2 stick real grass-fed butter room temp
  • 2 cups powdered sugar of choice (you can make your own powdered sugar, I also start out adding way less & checking the taste, sometimes I only need a cup or less)
  • 1 to 2 tbsp. of cold milk of choice or cold water
  • 1/8 tsp. of natural unrefined salt
  • Optional 1 tsp. of pure vanilla extract or extract of choice
  • Optional: 1 to 2 tbsp cacao powder

First cream together Palm Shortening & butter with powdered sugar with hand mixer. Slowly add in the milk & beat with your hand mixer until totally smooth & fluffy then add in optional ingredients one at a time beating till mixed between each one. The frosting pictured in the bowl is before adding cacao powder.

Simple Shortening frosting

  • 3/4  to 1 cup palm shorteningNFR6K cupcakes
  • 2 cups of powdered sugar of choice (make powdered  by blending  1 cup of sugar of choice with 1 tsp of starch of choice (corn-potato-etc) in food processor or blender until powdered)
  • 1/8 tsp. of natural unrefined salt
  • Optional 1 tsp. of pure vanilla extract or extract of choice
  • Optional: 1 tbsp. of cacao powder
  • First cream together Palm Shortening with powdered sugar with hand mixer & add in the optional ingredients & beat with your hand mixer until totally smooth & fluffy.

For both the recipes adjust accordingly to your likes & needs, & of course do not lick the bowl clean, these are sweet.

_______________________________________________________

Reviews: My product reviews the  company provided me with a reduced price or free item(s) or sample(s) of the  product(s) mentioned above in my review, I was under no obligation to review it, nor was I under any obligation to only write a positive review. My reviews are my honest opinion after personally trying the product & feeling confident in it. When it comes to products I do not like, that cause issues or if it was a negative experience I will not review them  & contact the company telling them why. So If the review has made it to my blog it is because I love it & recommend it to everyone & I am happy to have used the product.

Affiliate & Referral links:  I do when I can have links that are affiliate or referral links, not all links on my blog, pages & posts are affiliate or referral links. (More info here)

I will  share links to buy products on  Amazon  anytime I can, I thank you for your support.

______________________

Follow me:  Facebook  –  Pinterest  –  Google+  –  Instagram  (Raising6kids) –   Twitter  @NaturalCheree

Click here to learn where buy some of my favorite products  such as coconut oil, colloidal silver & more.

All    information contained in the pages of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids blog – NFR6K Blog, blog posts, site, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest or elsewhere are for information & research only.

Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids  &  NFR6K Reviews

To contact me to review your product go here.

More products I love by Tropical Traditions:    Gold Label Virgin Coconut oil  –  Green label Virgin coconut oil  –  Palm Oil  –  Palm shortening  –  Extra Virgin Olive oil  –  Black Cumin Seed oil  –  Organic Sesame oil  –  Coconut water Vinegar  –  Organic Apple cider vinegar  –  Balsamic vinegar  –  Pink Himalayan salt  –  Organic spices  –  Organic Whole Unbleached Sugar  –  Grass-Fed butter  & more.

If you order by clicking on any of my links & order from Tropical Traditions & have never ordered from them in the past, you might receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, & I will receive a discount coupon for referring you”

back nfr6k

_______________________________________________________

I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. Thank you for reading my blog & supporting me on the journey to share #NFR6K Cheree

Leave a Reply

