DIY Honey Moisturizing Shampoo Recipe – Homemade Natural NoPoo Ideas

Honey Honey!

back nfr6k
Natural Shampoo that is easily made, effective & makes your hair healthy & shiny.

The recipes I will be sharing below will fit right into your normal no poo routine, remember the best way to get great results from no poo is to switch around what you use & to not stay to using only one recipe, so switch up your no poo routine for best honey

Fake Honey say what?: Most store bought Honey is fake junk, here is a great article to help you decide if your honey is fake. You can also research the brand of raw honey you want to buy.

Why is real raw honey great for hair & scalp? Honey adds healthy shine, softness & moisturizing to hair you can see & feel without weighing hair down. raw honey is also amazing for dandruff & other scalp issues like bacterial &/or fungal infections because raw honey naturally anti-fungal & anti-bacterial properties.  If you use real raw honey (not grocery store honey) it can eliminate frizz as it takes your hair to a new level of healthy, & after all health is what you are after.

Honey helps naturally gently balance the PH of hair & scalp & removing dead skin & dandruff without stripping your hair of needed oils as it leaves your hair naturally moisturized.

Essential oils & oils are optional: In the below recipes you can add 1 drop of your favorite essential oil like lavender, rosemary, litsea cubeba, tea tree, lemon, peppermint or eucalyptus etc. Or you can add 1 drop of a healthy oil like jojoba, argan, rosehip, olive oil or coconut oil. Just stay to only one drop unless you know these oils will not leave your hair greasy, if you are prone to greasy hair you really might want to skip adding these oils.

Hot water: It is important to add the raw honey to already war/hot water & mix it in, do not heat the water with the honey or any of the other ingredients or optional ingredients.  And yes  if you prefer mix in room temp water.Natural & Frugal / Photos by Cheree

Baking soda water: If you hair still feels a bit greasy to you after rinsing hair, simply add 1 tsp of baking soda to 2 cups warm water (warm water is the key here) mix till dissolved, pour over hair & do not rinse out, then as hair is almost dry brush a lot & continue as needed brushing to a shine.

Washing face: let the honey shampoo mixture pour over your face as well & then use baking soda to scrub/clean/exfoliate the your wet skin for an amazingly healthy healing face wash. Rinse after washing. I like to pour the shampoo over my hair letting it totally wet my face & use the baking soda to wash my face as the shampoo sits in my hair, then after rinsing my face I then work the shampoo into my hair (no suds or lathering but work it in anyhow) & then rinse my hair.

As needed: The recipes below are for an amount for one use to prevent spoiling, if you want to make more please add a natural preservative like colloidal silver (1 ounce).

Honey: for this recipe I use Tropical Traditions Organic, Raw Canadian Honey

Recipes: Change around the recipes to suit your wants & needs, that is part of what is so great about DIY, there is almost no wrong way & you can make it your own, recipes are just guides or suggestions, so get creative.

Hair: I like to pour my DIY shampoos right over my dry hair rather than on wet hair, but if you prefer your hair wet first that is fine too.

Conditioner: You can add 1 tsp to 1 tbsp of vinegar like raw vinegar, coconut water vinegar or Bragg vinegar in 1 cup of warm water as conditioner. Or you can add 1 tsp to 1 tbsp of fresh lemon juice or lemon juice concentrate to 1 cup of warm water as conditioner. But usually with honey shampoo depending on what you add conditioner is totally optional.

Directions: Pour shampoo over dry hair, work the into my hair & scalp (no suds or lathering but work it in anyhow) let sit a minute or 2 if desired & then rinse out of hair. Follow with a baking soda shampoo or baking soda water rinse if desired but not necessary mostly.


Basic Honey Shampoo: 1 tbsp raw honey to 1 cup of hot/warm water, mix till dissolved.

Basic Honey Shampoo concentrated: 1 tbsp of raw honey to 2 ounces very hot water mix & apply to wet hair.

Honey & Lemon Shampoo: To your honey shampoo add 1 tbsp of fresh lemon juice or lemon juice concentrate, mix & use. Optional add 1 drop of lemon essential oil or litsea cubeba essential oil. Lemon juice is very moisturizing to hair leaving it more conditioned as it also shines & heals.

Honey & Rosewater shampoo: To your honey shampoo add 1 tbsp of homemade rosewater or other rosewater. Mix & use.

My favorite Honey shampoo: to my honey shampoo I add 1 tbsp of lemon juice, 1 tbsp of rosewater & 1 drop of litsea cubeba essential oil, pour over my dry hair, work into scalp & let sit several minutes & rinse out.

Honey & witch hazel shampoo: To your honey shampoo add about 1 tbsp of real witch hazel, mix & use. This recipe is usually a favorite for people to add 1 drop of jojoba oil, but the oil is totally optional.

Honey & Borax shampoo: add 1 or 2 tsp of borax to the warm water before adding the honey, stir till dissolved & then add the honey, then pour on hair.

Other blog posts on no poo, DIY shampoo & natural Shampoos:

back nfr6k

You can now follow me on Instagram & keep up with my photos of great products, or whatever musings I may have, follow me raising6kids here.


Do you have a question? Do you want to contact me? It is easy to contact me with your questions. Go here


My blogs: Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kidsNFR6K BloggerNFR6K DIY Green CleaningNaturally Teen Approved NFR6K Reviews

What Brands of coconut oil do I trust for taking & oil pulling? That is simple I use & recommend these 2 great brands:

  1. Skinny & Co. Coconut oil: Medicinal grade Extra Virgin coconut oil 100% pure. (click link for ordering info)
  2. Tropical Traditions Virgin Gold Label Coconut oil. (click link for ordering info)

You will notice in a lot of my DIY posts I recommend colloidal silver, but where do I buy mine? I make my own with a Colloidal silver generator, I can make a qt for just pennies.

Facebook Pages:

You can also follow me on: Pinterest, Google+, Instagram & Twitter

Virgin Coconut Oil, Gold Label how to Use Coconut Oil: There are hundreds of uses!

I do accept products to review on my blog

  • My reviews policy: I am sent products to review on my blog and that all opinions are my own. (to contact me to review your product go here)

SmartKlean Laundry ball / Stain remover – Safe – Effective – Saves Money, Water & the Environment. To order a SmartKlean Laundry Ball go here & use my affiliate page.

Thank you for supporting my Facebook pages, Blog & sharing with your friends, Cheree of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids

The information on this site it intended for general inquiry, research & informational purposes only & should not be considered a substitute or replacement for trained medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment.
I am NOT a doctor, this page is for education & research only. Always consult a doctor, your health practitioner or other competent licensed health professional before taking any herbs or supplements, using alternative ideas & for any specific advice about medical treatments. In many cases these statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, or cure any disease.

All  information contained in the pages of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids blog, blog posts, site, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest or elsewhere are for information & research only.


By Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids

2 thoughts on “DIY Honey Moisturizing Shampoo Recipe – Homemade Natural NoPoo Ideas

  1. Pingback: Shampoo caseiro com mel - Lar Natural

Leave a Reply

