Tropical Traditions Whole Grain Soft White Winter Wheat – Recipes

Whole Grain Soft White Winter Wheat 

sourdough bread loaf 1

Wheat, Soft White Winter is used primarily for cake or “pastry” flour. Its lower protein and gluten content make for a light flour and a tender baked good.

Whole Grain Soft White Winter Wheat 
Winter wheat 1


So as all my fans know I love cooking & baking from scratch as healthy as possible & using soft white winter wheat fits into my way of cooking & baking so well & for my Sourdough bread,(starter for sourdough here).

Yes you guessed it I ground up some of this whole grain into flour & used it in making my sourdough bread with great success, It turned out so well I have actually sat more out to rise today to bake tomorrow. I also have enjoyed making sprouted wheat with this wheat & I do intend to before my sourdough blog post to have tried the sprouted wheat in my sourdough bread (Not sure why that did not occur to me before now). 


Sourdough starter & Sourdough Bread: You can use this wheat ground up for making several of the the recipes here How to make a sourdough starter – Part 1 – Making healthy sourdough bread & How to make sourdough bread recipe – Part 2 – Healthy baking

Gravy: Just like with the coconut flour & the einkorn flour the flour made from White Winter Wheat makes great gravy, I did find it worked better mixed with einkorn flour or mixed with organic corn starch at least for my family, you might prefer it differently.

  • I start with saved stock/drippings in a pan over medium heat,
  • add about 1/4 cup organic powdered/dry milk & 1/4 cup flour mixture (mixed or straight) for every cup or 2 of liquid,
  • keep whisking
  • you also add 1 tsp of coconut oil (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon natural unrefined salt & black pepper.
  • Add other spices of choice,
  • keep whisking,
  • you may need to turn heat down,
  • cook until desired thickness & bubbling,
  • you can add more liquid like water to thin if needed,
  • we love to Winter wheat 3make sausage gravy, bacon gravy or even gravy from chicken & beef etc with this recipe.
  • As a plus we like to also add just a but of finely cut up meat to the gravy.

Breading: I have used this ground flour to bread pork-chops & bake or fry them, I did again mix with einkorn flour for best results. I instead to try it for other things like my healthy chicken nuggets soon as well.

To make sprouted wheat:

  • Add several cups of whole grains to a glass or stainless bowl,
  • cover with enough warm filtered water to have several inches on top of the grains, (you can also do this in a small crock pot on low/warm).
  • Soak 7 to 8 hours.
  • Drain grains through a mesh strainer or sieve,
  • then leaving them in strainer run clean filtered water over them.
  • Add to a jar with either the lid on loosely or with a breathable cover.
  • Rinse grains again in strainer every day for about 2 to 3 days depending on how you will be using them.
  • When to desired sprouting rinse & either refrigerate them or dehydrate them (dehydrate for flour & only sprout 1 to 2 days for flour).

sourdough bread loaf 1To dehydrate sprouts for flour,

  • add to dehydrator (about 105 degrees)
  • dehydrate until dried.
  • Or spread out on un-greased baking sheet & set on your ovens lowest setting & cook until dry (in oven is usually harder & varies on results).
  • Then simply grind into flour.

Go crazy: Get creative & add this ground up to your favorite recipe, you might just fall in love with it too, yes I love Einkorn flour & Coconut flour but I feel that flour made from soft white winter wheat will be used a lot in my home alone & with other flours as the need varies.


As I said we love baking & cooking & prefer to cook healthier, so this great soft white winter wheat  fits into our life really well. I read of many who like adding this flour to their smoothies, I have to try that too.

winter wheat 2

_______________________________________________________

Reviews: My product reviews the  company provided me with a reduced price or free item(s) or sample(s) of the  product(s) mentioned above in my review, I was under no obligation to review it, nor was I under any obligation to only write a positive review. My reviews are my honest opinion after personally trying the product & feeling confident in it. When it comes to products I do not like, that cause issues or if it was a negative experience I will not review them  & contact the company telling them why. So If the review has made it to my blog it is because I love it & recommend it to everyone & I am happy to have used the product.

Affiliate & Referral links:  I do when I can have links that are affiliate or referral links, not all links on my blog, pages & posts are affiliate or referral links. (More info here)

I will  share links to buy products on  Amazon  anytime I can, I thank you for your support.

______________________

Follow me:  Facebook  –  Pinterest  –  Google+  –  Instagram  (Raising6kids) –   Twitter  @NaturalCheree

Click here to learn where buy some of my favorite products  such as coconut oil, colloidal silver & more.

All    information contained in the pages of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids blog – NFR6K Blog, blog posts, site, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest or elsewhere are for information & research only.

Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids  &  NFR6K Reviews

To contact me to review your product go here.

More products I love by Tropical Traditions:    Gold Label Virgin Coconut oil  –  Green label Virgin coconut oil  –  Palm Oil  –  Palm shortening  –  Extra Virgin Olive oil  –  Black Cumin Seed oil  –  Organic Sesame oil  –  Coconut water Vinegar  –  Organic Apple cider vinegar  –  Balsamic vinegar  –  Pink Himalayan salt  –  Organic spices  –  Organic Whole Unbleached Sugar  –  Grass-Fed butter  & more.

If you order by clicking on any of my links & order from Tropical Traditions & have never ordered from them in the past, you might receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, & I will receive a discount coupon for referring you”

back nfr6k

_______________________________________________________

I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. Thank you for reading my blog & supporting me on the journey to share #NFR6K Cheree

9 thoughts on “Tropical Traditions Whole Grain Soft White Winter Wheat – Recipes

  1. Pingback: Organic Whole Grain Wheat Berries | Tropical Traditions Special Deals

Leave a Reply

