Review: Tropical Traditions Dish Liquid – Plus DIY uses – Recipes and Cleaning – Bubbles for kids

Tropical Traditions Dish liquid.

This Dish Liquid might just be what you have been looking for. 
A Coconut oil based Natural liquid soap

Household Traditions /Tropical Traditions let me pick what item I wanted to give away & review, I picked the Dish liquid because so many DIY recipes call for liquid castile soap or Dawn dish soap & I wanted to find a liquid soap that was both natural & easily found, plus I need a liquid soap that does not cause an allergy reaction for my family like Castile does. This dish liquid fills that need amazingly well.

Other Liquid soaps….
A natural liquid soap when making DIY cleaners etc is a must,but many have a hard time finding one that suits their needs or they find that not all castile soap brands work well, so many opt for liquid dish soaps like Dawn including myself. Yes as natural as I am I have been using Dawn in any DIY recipe that calls for liquid soap (though I basically avoided those recipes). Easy to find is just one reason I used Dawn when needed, mainly because my family has no issues from the use of Dawn, no rashes when it is in their clothes, no headaches or breathing issues from Dawn in cleaners, & oddly enough Castile soap bothered all of us.

Dish Liquid…
So I am happy to report we had no allergy issues or side effects from the Dish Liquid in any of it’s uses,  it is working great in all my DIY recipes, I will share the DIY recipes, how I used it & how effective the liquid was. I think over all most everyone would really like how effective & easy to use the Dish Liquid is & will love using it in place of Liquid castile soaps (like Dr Bonners brand) or in place of Blue Dawn that is toxic.

Since DIY cleaning is an everyday thing in my house & I have used Castile, Dawn, Basic H & many natural soaps I can tell you Household Traditions held its own when compared to these soaps & when it replaced them it did the job just as well. Right now the Dish Liquid is on sale for $9.95 for the 32oz size & $29.50 for a gallon (while the sale lasts)

To pin this blog post on Pinterest

It is great review time, yup I loved this Dish Liquid!

My review: I loved the Dish Liquid & as always Tropical Traditions shipped fast & had great communication, they are a great company selling great products & I highly recommend them & all their other products I have reviewed, Raw coconut water vinegar, Laundry soap, & Virgin coconut oil.

The Dish Liquid is low sudsing & that made it great for using in DIY recipes, it is the same consistency as other liquid soaps, so it is not runny or watery, it only has a very slight soap smell, it kinda in a way reminded me of the scent of the old Basic H I grew up with. The squirt top made the 32oz bottle very easy to use & easy to get just the right amount for my recipes. Will I use this soap again in the future? Yes I will.

Household Traditions Dish Liquid is free of:Tropical Traditions Dish Liquid
Fragrances, Dyes, Petroleum Solvents, Respiratory and Skin irritants.
Deionized water, coconut and sugar-based cleansing and
sudsing agents, plant-based surfactants, emulsifiers.
Coconut oil based!
Household Traditions Dish Liquid is an effective and concentrated dish soap developed by and for people with allergies, asthma and Multiple Chemical Sensitivities.* Household Traditions Dish Liquid is a coconut-based product—it contains nature’s versatile, renewable harvest. With coconut’s natural moisturizing qualities, washing dishes is even soothing to your hands. Household Traditions Dish Liquid is safe for you but tough on dirty, greasy dishes. It breaks down safely and rapidly making it safer for the environment. It is also low sudsing, making it ideal for camping or other outdoor uses. Household Traditions Dish Liquid is free of fragrances, phosphates, petroleum solvents, chlorine, dyes and other common triggers for respiratory or skin irritations.

*This product has been proven through past use to be safe for sufferers of allergies, asthma, and MCS. However, because each person’s condition is unique, Household Traditions and Tropical Traditions cannot be responsible for any
adverse reactions to this product.

How I used Household Traditions Dish Liquid.
I used it for everything including the kitchen sink🙂

Recipes I have tried with Dish Liquid

DIY spray cleaner
large spray bottle, 1 cup of white vinegar, 1/2 cup of lemon juice & 1/2 teaspoon of Dish Liquid, slowly fill with water, use to clean where grime or grease require a tougher cleaner. The Dish liquid did well & left no soap residue. I used to clean a grimy stove top & the inside of a microwave & it did the jobs well, also worked great for spot cleaning the floor in between mopping. Options to add, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, 5 to 10 drops of Eucalyptus essential oil.

All-Purpose Household Cleaner 3 cups of hot water, 4 Tablespoons of vinegar, 1/8 cup of Borax, 1/2 Tablespoon Dish Liquid. Mix well and store in a spray bottle. Use as you would any commercial cleaner. options to add: 10 drops essential oils of choice, 2 tbsp colloidal silver or  2 tbsp Rubbing alcohol. Again this cleaner did the job well & using the Dish Liquid instead of Dawn did not at all weaken the cleaner & added to the fact it is now natural. Loved it!

DIY shower, tub & tile, sink etc cleaner
I adapted this recipe that uses Dawn dish soap by using the Dish Liquid, How I made it (my version): 3 cups of heated white vinegar, 1/2 cup of Dish liquid, add to spray bottle shake gently & use while still warm. I found the dish liquid worked just as well as the Dawn, maybe better since washing it off was easier, if you sprinkle baking soda on really tough spots first then spray this mixture on, it can clean amazingly well, but it also worked great just sprayed without the baking soda.

Cleaning makeup brushes
I tend to just use slightly warmed white vinegar strait in a cup to clean my brushes, but every once in a while I liked to add 1 to 2 drops of liquid soap to the cup, simply swish the brush in the cup, let it sit a minute or two, swish it again them work out any caught makeup with your fingers, squeeze out excess water & lay on towel to dry ( I have multiple kinds of make up brushes, but if in doubt read how to care for your brushes & possibly aire on the side of caution, I always say if in doubt, just don’t do it!) this method worked really well, I was pleased.

Soft scrubTropical Traditions Dish Liquid
I adapted a recipe similar to this one with me using the Dish Liquid.  How I made my soft scrub:  1 cup baking soda, 2 tablespoons Dish liquid, 1 tablespoon white vinegar, 1 tablespoon lemon juice, 5 drops eucalyptus & 5 drops Tea tree essential oils, add enough water to create a thick paste, if you add to much water simply add more baking soda. This worked as well or better than adding Dawn or Castile soap. Options to add: other essential oils like Lemon or Orange, 1 tbsp of salt (for more scrubbing power).

Glass, Window & Mirror cleaner
Add Liquid soap to remove build up of wax from commercial cleaners, this wax is why many get hazy or film once switching to DIY cleaners, the soap will remove the wax & can continue to be used if desired. 1 cup of white vinegar, 1/2 cup of Rubbing alcohol, 2 drops of Dish liquid, use large spray bottle & fill to top with slightly warm water. Clean up your windows & mirrors. Works really well, I was pleased. Options to add: you can use straight white vinegar, or 50/50 white vinegar & water, or straight peroxide with your 2 drops of Dish Liquid.

Laundry pre theater spray
Large spray bottle, 1 cup of warm water with one tbsp of baking soda mixed in well, 2 tablespoons of Dish Liquid, & 1/4 cup of lemon juice or white vinegar, fill the rest of the bottle with water, spray on spots before washing or spray & scrub with tooth-brush & let sit before washing. This worked well to get out stains & spots, sometimes I had to sprinkle on extra baking soda or cornstarch & work in with a toothbrush but that’s normal.

Grease & oil stains & spots on clothing:
Dish liquid, baking soda & corn starch in a paste rubbed in, or when dry sprinkle on & press in corn starch & let sit & soak up spot before washing. Again it worked great!

Laundry soap (liquid)
I adapted the Laundry soap #4 from my blog post here by using Dish Liquid instead of Castile or Dawn. how: 3 Tablespoons Borax, 3 Tablespoons Washing Soda 1 cup Dish Liquid &  20 drops eucalyptus or lavender essential oil. Dissolve the Borax & washing soda in 3 cups of warm water, then mix with dish Liquid in gallon jug  fill all the way with water.. You might need to shake to mix before each use.  use 1/2 cup to 1 cup per load. (I made a 1/3 size batch to make sure I liked this liquid laundry soap) This worked very well on my husbands grimy work uniforms & was gentile enough for all our undergarments. & none of my sensitive skinned family broke out in hives or had other allergy issues. (go here for DIY washing soda)

Washing Dishes by hand
Yup it worked amazing on dishes, how I wash dishes, I add 1 tbsp of baking soda to hot water (causes less sudsing & helps clean) & 1 tbsp of white vinegar & about 10 drops of dish liquid, it worked as well or better than any liquid soap I have used. Awesome for greasy dishes & pots & pans.

Hand washing dish soap (large amount)
1  gallon container with seal lid, 1/2 to 1 cup Dish Liquid, 3 cups of washing soda (go here for DIY washing soda) 3 cups Borax & Water
Fill the container half way with hot water, add the washing soda & Borax,stir until dissolved. now add the dish liquid, water & mix well. Fill the bucket to the top with HOT water, mix, cover. Use 1 to 2 tbsp per sink of water, swishing around with hand.

Dishwasher soap
Per load add 1 tbsp Borax, 1 tbsp Borax with just a couple drops of dish soap, this recipe works great depending on your machine & water, you can also add 1 teaspoon of salt & 1 teaspoon of corn starch if you want

Stove top, burners, burner trays:
Soak burners & trays in warm soapy water made with Dish liquid adding vinegar & baking soda to fizz off burn on food, use toothbrush or steel wool to scrub. then rinse. Spray stove top with one of the above cleaners, allow to sit then add a little baking soda or baking soda & salt to any stuck on food & scrub. Worked really well, I only had to soak once.

Hair (Shampoo)
Now I am not much for adding any soap at all to my No Poo routine, but after I do a hot coconut oil treatment I tend to need a bit of soap to get it washed out, I normally use dawn, Borax & baking soda water then wash No poo after. This time I used the Dish liquid & it worked great & was no where as harsh as the Dawn. I added 1/2 tablespoon of baking soda & 1/2 tablespoon of borax in 1 cup hot water mixed well till dissolved then added 5 drops of Dish Liquid & poured over head (after washing raw coconut oil out with hot water) for most hair types the dish liquid might even be gentile enough for normal use.

Hair (Lice Shampoo)
I did a blog post on using No poo for controlling lice here, this is simply another idea for those who prefer shampoo. Use an empty shampoo bottle & add 1/4 to 1/2 the bottle with Dish Liquid, add 1 teaspoon olive oil (olive oil is optional & may not be needed if you add enough essential oils)  5  drops each, Lavender, Tea tree oil, Eucalyptus, Rosemary & Peppermint essential oils (use slightly more or less drops depending on hair type, only add the olive oil if mixture dries out hair) fill the rest of the bottle with water, shake & use as normal. options to add: Warm the water & mix 1 teaspoon of borax in it to dissolve before adding to bottle, instead of olive oil do a pre hot oil treatment with Coconut oil (info here). You can also add 1/8 cup colloidal silver to this.

To unclog sink/drain:
Pour in 1/2 cup to 1 cup baking soda, then  1 teaspoon Dish Liquid, now pour in 1 cup of heated white vinegar, let fizz for about ten minutes & run hot water down it. This works really well for tough clogs that just baking soda & vinegar wont unclog, great for sinks, tubs & toilets.

Toilet Antibacterial Aroma Cleaner
Spray #1: 1/4 cup Dish Liquid, 4 to 5 drops eac Lavender, Tea tree & Lemon Essential oils, add to large spray bottle & fill the resst of the way with water, simply spray & wipe clean.
Spray #2: 1/4 cup Dish Liquid, 10 to 15 drops of Peppermint Essential oil, add to large spray bottle & fill the resst of the way with water, simply spray & wipe clean.
Squeeze: Use a squeeze bottle or other bottle, make one of the above combos, squert as much as needed in the toilet water & use the toilet brush, let sit or flush, you can also add 1/2 cup to the tank to have extra cleaning power & aroma.
Options to add: 1/2 cup of white vinegar, 1/2 cup Lemon or Lime juice, 1/4 to 1/2 cup of Colloidal silver, 1/4 cup rubbing alcohol, 1 tbs baking soda

Bug Spray for garden (Vegetable plants)
I adapted this recipe & used Dish Liquid in the recipe.  In a large jug or bucket mix 2 tablespoons. of olive oil, 2 tbsp of Dish Liquid one gallon of water mix with hand or spoon.Helps control whiteflies, aphids & other soft-bodied insects. Add to spray bottle or pump sprayer & spray bugs
For spider mites: 3 tablespoons Dish Liquid. Add to spray bottle or pump sprayer & spray bugs.

Spray the plants with the appropriate soap solution, thoroughly coating the  plants. Apply the solution on the undersides of leaves where most insects tend  to congregate.
Spray the plants a second time two to three days later if there is no burning  or other damage to the plants. Continue to apply every three days until most of  the insects are dead.
Rinse the plants with clear water the day after spraying, rinsing away the  soap scum. The soap can block the pores on the plant’s foliage and prevent  respiration if not rinsed away.

More Natural DIY pest control ideas here

DIY Plant Food/fertilizer (houseplants & outside)
Simply add 1 teaspoon of Dish Liquid to 1 gallon of water, mix & water houseplants, Outdoor plants add 1 tablespoon of Dish Liquid to 1 gallon of water, mix & water plants. Options to add: use 1 or all of these in the mixture~1 teaspoon Epsom Salt, 1 tablespoon baking soda, 1 can of beer, coffee water. And add only one of these~1 cup Colloidal silver or  1 tablespoon peroxide. (double check by researching to find out what combo will be best for your plants)

Rose Spray:
Helps prevent diseases such as rust, blackspot, & powdery mildew, Simply mix together 1 tbsp baking soda, 1 tsp Dish Liquid , 1 tbsp olive oil , 1 dissolved aspirin & 1 gallon of water,pour into a spray bottle. Spray roses every 1-2 weeks.

Bubbles for the kids (who does not love bubbles?)
Small batch:  3 cups of water, 1/4 cup Dish Liquid, 1/4 cup corn starch (I used potato starch or you could use Arrowroot powder), 2 tsp baking powder, I mixed it up & added it to an empty bubble bottle with a wand.
Large Batch: 12 cups of water, 1 cup Dish Liquid,  1 cup of corn starch, 2 tablespoons baking powder

Have fun!

I have a blog series on green cleaning your whole house: “How to be Green & Healthy: Room by room” Check out all the post & you can use the Dish Liquid in any of the DIY recipes that call for liquid soap.

What about you, What DIY recipe would you add it to?


Do you have a question? Do you want to contact me? It is easy to contact me with your questions. Go here


I am NOT a doctor. This page is for education only, and is NOT intended to be medical advice. Always talk with your health practitioner before taking any herbs or supplements.

Natural & Frugal: raising 6 kids Facebook page
Facebook Pages:

You can also follow me on: Pinterest & Twitter

Virgin Coconut Oil, Gold Label how to Use Coconut Oil: There are hundreds of uses!

  • Tropical Traditions video on Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil.

“If you order by clicking on any of my links and have never ordered from Tropical Traditions in the past, you might receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, and I will receive a discount coupon for referring you.”

I do accept products to review on my blog

  • My reviews policy: I am sent products to review on my blog and that all opinions are my own.
  • To contact me: Go here

Thank you for supporting my Facebook pages, Blog & sharing with your friends, Cheree of Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids


6 thoughts on “Review: Tropical Traditions Dish Liquid – Plus DIY uses – Recipes and Cleaning – Bubbles for kids

  1. Pingback: #10 DIY Floors: How to be Green & Healthy | Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids

  2. Pingback: Baking soda ramblings | Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids

  3. Pingback: Ramblings & a Natural multi-purpose DIY Cleaner | Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids

  4. Pingback: Ramblings.. My favorite DIY cleaners | Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids

  5. Pingback: #4 A DIY Livingroom: How to be Green & Healthy | Natural & Frugal: Raising 6 kids

Leave a Reply

